We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position in Lake Taupo”
Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acapulco Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good position in Lake Taupo”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This pleasant motel is located in a good area close to the main areas of Lake Taupo so it is easy to walk to the main shopping & dining areas of the town and to the Lake itself. Our room was spacious with a spa bath and outside seating. A good choice for a one night stay whilst touring around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186284Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    115
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
87
119
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The property is at a convenient location in a quiet neighbourhood yet near to Lake Taupo as well as eateries. Spacious room with well equipped kitchen facilities. You have a designated car park just outside your unit. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Low H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a long day of driving it was great to find this motel. The room was very clean, neat and tidy and it had all that my wife and I needed for the one night stay. The host was very friendly and helpful. Everything in the room was spotless and the motel is only a few minutes drive away from the down train area. Because the motel is off the main road it was very quiet and we had a great night's sleep. Parking is tight, but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked online based on a 4 star rating. I went in, stayed for about 30 minutes and then left. The room was old, 1980's decor, bedding was worn, microwave was very old - dial variety...to list a few points. I now know why there are no photos of the bathroom - it is very, very small with faded linoleum floor and old shower unit. I travel for business a lot and this was sub standard for price and I question its four star rating. It is worth mentioning that in 12 years I have never walked out of booked accomodation and this cost me.

On a positive, the host demonstrated very, very good customer service even when I handed the keys back, and the room was clean. I would have stayed if customer service was my primary need, but pleasant surroundings with a good bathroom are also important. Other units appeared a lot better but still not as good as other motels in the area. My suggestion - update the decor and bathroom in the studio unit.

Room Tip: Avoid the studio unit next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My Daughter and grand daughter stayed for 3 nights. We had a spa bath 2 bedroom unit with kitchen unit. The owners were very helpful and all the little extras made all the difference. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family of 4 had a 2 night stay recently and were very pleased. It is not always easy to find a 2 bedroomed motel to accommodate older children. Nice sized rooms, comfortable beds, and a kitchenette well equipped. A nice selection of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, and even biscuits awaited our arrival. Also appreciated the selection of toiletries sitting in the bathroom.
As it was rather cold, the powerful wall heater was very effective.
Car park just out side room. So close to the Lake and shops.
Friendly and helpful owner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Infinity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very clean, perfect location, we loved it. The big whirlpool spa was just what we needed. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AucklandMeringue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
0.2 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#18 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Property: Acapulco Motor Inn
Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing