We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, neat and friendly”
Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acapulco Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a long day of driving it was great to find this motel. The room was very clean, neat and tidy and it had all that my wife and I needed for the one night stay. The host was very friendly and helpful. Everything in the room was spotless and the motel is only a few minutes drive away from the down train area. Because the motel is off the main road it was very quiet and we had a great night's sleep. Parking is tight, but adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 273 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked online based on a 4 star rating. I went in, stayed for about 30 minutes and then left. The room was old, 1980's decor, bedding was worn, microwave was very old - dial variety...to list a few points. I now know why there are no photos of the bathroom - it is very, very small with faded linoleum floor and old shower unit. I travel for business a lot and this was sub standard for price and I question its four star rating. It is worth mentioning that in 12 years I have never walked out of booked accomodation and this cost me.

On a positive, the host demonstrated very, very good customer service even when I handed the keys back, and the room was clean. I would have stayed if customer service was my primary need, but pleasant surroundings with a good bathroom are also important. Other units appeared a lot better but still not as good as other motels in the area. My suggestion - update the decor and bathroom in the studio unit.

Room Tip: Avoid the studio unit next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My Daughter and grand daughter stayed for 3 nights. We had a spa bath 2 bedroom unit with kitchen unit. The owners were very helpful and all the little extras made all the difference. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nanabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family of 4 had a 2 night stay recently and were very pleased. It is not always easy to find a 2 bedroomed motel to accommodate older children. Nice sized rooms, comfortable beds, and a kitchenette well equipped. A nice selection of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, and even biscuits awaited our arrival. Also appreciated the selection of toiletries sitting in the bathroom.
As it was rather cold, the powerful wall heater was very effective.
Car park just out side room. So close to the Lake and shops.
Friendly and helpful owner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Infinity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very clean, perfect location, we loved it. The big whirlpool spa was just what we needed. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandMeringue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Arrived late at night and very tired to Taupo, having driven for about 4 hours almost non-stop and picked the first motel we saw which was obviously open. We were very pleased we did. We received a fantastic welcome at the Acapulco. The Manager appeared to also be the owner and while we completed our registration, he ran (yes, ran!) across to the room we would be staying in and turned the lights and heater on for us! Brilliant!! The room was quiet and extremely clean with a very neat and well supplied kitchen with plunger coffee, biscuits and hot chocolate as well as a really good range of teas. We couldn't find a can opener and one was supplied very quickly without any fuss. The motel cat also made us feel very welcome the next morning. All in all an extremely pleasant stay and very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room was on what I think was the northern side and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My Wife & I stayed in Taupo for 2 nights in this motel. We made the booking through Golden Chain motels. This motel is a family run business with the owner staying in the same property. They were warm & friendly. Shared a good overview of the town & its attractions when we checked-in. We enjoyed the Lake Taupo cruise which was recommended by the owner. The rooms are clean & well-maintained. The best part is the location - 5 mins walk to lake & 10 mins to the town centre. Will recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnilKrishnaSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.2 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#25 of 68 in Taupo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $66 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing