We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accomodations for the price”
Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acapulco Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality accomodations for the price”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Pros:
1. Walking distance to Taupo
2. Friendly owners
3. Very clean rooms
4. Very comfy beds
5. Kitchens were clean, with microwave, hotplate, dishes, and hot water boiler
Cons
1. Hotel spa wasn't very hot
2. No fitness center
Otherwise everything was great!

Tip: If you're in decent shape, don't miss the Tongariro crossing! Highlight of our New Zealand trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlynn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    115
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
87
119
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stay at Acapulco 3 times / year, and have done so for many a year. We always book a studio unit, the rooms are not too small as quoted in a previous review, the heat pumps are new and not noisy, the units are as good as or better than ones we have stayed at in other parts of the country. Some people are just not happy unless they are moaning.

Room Tip: You get what you book, if you book a studio don't expect a suite etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandaLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed in one bedroom with swirlpool spa, was super clean, neat and comfy..spa was wonderful.. would definately recomend this motel to all my family and friends, staff were really friendly and welcoming..safe carpark. Spa was in bathroom which was size of a bedroom

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend - Loved the Spa Bath great way to relax after a long day - Good sized Rooms, Easy walking distance to the town centre and the lake - Hosts were friendly & knowledgable- Willsaty there again next time in Taupo

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennz612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I booked this hotel because the website boasts " Our spacious Studio units . ." but there was nothing spacious about it! Definitly nothing like the website.
Heater in room didnt work so had to use the aircon which was noisy too, would not stay here again. One positive was room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dzire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky013, Manager at Acapulco Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Without a name we can't identify which unit you booked. All our units are spacious as in the website except for two units which are very popular with our guest's who want clean comfortable accommodation for a night at a reasonable tariff.

The problem with the heater would have been the thermostat tripped and needed to be re-set if you had come to reception we could have done it straight away for you.

Thank you for your feedback, Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in a 'deluxe studio' ....and think that other rooms here must have been upgraded and ours just hadn't as we had a very different experience to others reviewing this motel.

We were quite hopeful as it said 4 star on the board outside and hot air heating...oh yes brilliant we thought...we walked in and walked out again asap! Imagine the worst 80s decor in the smallest and darkest of rooms that also contains a kitchenette with very old net curtains, and a glass paneled front door, the most hideous of floorings, and florescent lighting up both the kitchen and bed area... The one good thing was that it had this hot air heating which kept us warm. We decided the best thing to do was turn the lights off and sleep and leave early in the morning. We we woken up early due to the sky light in the room...Never going back and would not recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Do not book a deluxe studio - nothing 'deluxe' about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky013, Manager at Acapulco Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
We are sorry that you stay didn't meet your expectations, but unfortunatley your accommodation was booked thru a travel agent in Australia not with us direct. The agent booked a studio unit with kitchen facilities air/conditioning and queen size bed which you had.
The agent called the unit delux not us, on our website there is no mention of delux units, we do however have superior studio units with king size beds, air/conditioning and a double spa bath, but this unit was not booked for you.
It is unfortunate that you didn't make your concerns known to managment at the time so that the situation could have been addressed as there is nothing we can do once you have departed.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country..Managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed here for three weeks in one of my business trips in New Zealand. The motel is spacious and rooms are being cleaned everyday. Towels and coffee/tea box are being replenished everyday.
The place is just walking distance from the Taupo Lake, I remember I used to walk from the motel to see the beautiful scenery of the Taupo Lake. The Taupo commercial center is around 1 km form the motel.
There is only one little downside. The laundry room is always locked and you have to asked them everytime you need to use it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bok_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
0.2 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Property: Acapulco Motor Inn
Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing