We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bev & Allen”
Review of Bay Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Court Motel
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bev & Allen”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Thanks for a lovely stay. This wonderful facility was spotlessly clean with easy access and good traffic flow. Very quiet. Handy to town. Host was wonderful and helpful (thanks for the paper). He also gave good advice about eating establishments and other attractions. Would certainly recommend Bay Court Motel to others. Bev & Allen

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB123341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a Awesome Motel! We really enjoyed our stay here, It was very clean & spacious, Really Friendly & Helpful Hosts, Definitely worth the money for what was included in the room. Next time we go to taupo I'd stay again and would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Traveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We needed secure parking for our bike and this was sorted in a few minutes. Behind a locked wooden gate with the owners vehicle parked in front of the gate at night. We enjoyed the friendly proprietor who was so helpful and we both knew from years ago. Bonus! A great catch-up on the good old days. The bottom unit was great. Very clean and had everything we needed. The bed is the most comfortable we have slept in and the shower is amazing with plenty of forceful water. It was good to have the bike parked right outside our back door. The short walk across the road to the lake was a bonus and we spent a few hours here, on the beach of beautiful Lake Taupo. This motel is conveniently situated near restaurants, bars and only a short walk to the shopping centre.

Room Tip: The upper level of this motel would have a better view of the lake and get more sun. We loved the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We loved this motel. The separate bedroom and lounge was great, with a tv in each. You could watch TV from the spa. So relaxing!

We were in room 12 at the back of the top floor and had a small view of the lake. Room 9 would be perfect coz its at the front and had a great view.

Balconies both sides, very quiet and tidy and friendly hosts. We would definitely stay here again.

There are 3 floors with 4 rooms on each floor and the bottom floor had very little light and no view so the top floor rooms are definitely the ones to stay in.

We had no trouble walking to town and there is a really good Chinese smorgasbord restaurant just up the road.

The only slight negative would be the pale coloured curtains which were very light in the morning. Other than that it was excellent.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mkmtkrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My daughter booked this motel for us, so I had no idea what to expect when we arrived. What a pleasant surprise! From the road the building looks very small, but the apartments are quite spacious and very well equipped. The rooms were very comfortable and the shower is the best I've come across in NZ to date! Also very friendly proprietor. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone and would definitely book there again if I am lucky enough to visit beautiful Lake Taupo again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ValH902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A Lovely Little Motel ideal for a stop gap while travelling around NZ. The Rooms were clean and modern, and we managed to cook a decent breakfast in there. The lake views from the Motel are amazing, and its only a short drive to all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I can see the appeal of this property. It's right on the beach, it's located near any of a number of things to do in Taupo (in so far as there are a number of things to do in Taupo). It was not (however) a good choice for my partner, who is accustomed to more amenities than this hotel has.

Because the property only has three levels, there is no elevator if your room is on the upper level -- you must use the stairs (both the ground and first floor are accessible from the driveway.) I don't recall getting any milk, because we had run out of conditioner (serves me right for travelling with my partner and two teenage girls!) and I had to go to the store to buy some. Meanwhile, my partner is having a heated discussion with the owner about how many pillows we needed in the room.

I can't say we would stay here again, but for people and families with other dynamics, this could be a good choice for them!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg01776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#38 of 69 in Taupo
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#17 of 69 in Taupo
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Court Motel

Property: Bay Court Motel
Address: 104 Lake Terrace, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bay Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing