We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baycrest Lodge
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Really friendly and helpful owner, room we stayed in had a great view of lake, was warm (underfloor heating), spacious, clean, comfortable. The spa pool was restful and while there's a bit of noise from the main road, it's also handy to everything. The service was absolutely outstanding.

  • Liked — The owner, the view, the spacious room and the price
  • Disliked — Lack of wireless internet access
  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    62
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
158
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in April 2008 while doing the Tongariro Crossing Hike and skydiving. The owner was very helpful and booked us on a bus that went to the crossing trail head in the morning. The view of the lake from the balcony is OK, but the property is not actually on the lake front. The room was pleasant enough, spacious and well equipped. There is a large bath tub that we did not use because we spent some time in the outside thermally heated pool which was very relaxing after a hard days hike!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

We stayed in one of the family rooms on the top floor of the baycrest for 4 nights in Feb. The room was spacious, although some odd architectural elements, like not being able to open the windows in the bedroom much more than a few inches; limited our ability to get any ventilation. Bathrooms, as has been stated, are generous, to the point of wondering why they didn't just make two, or allocate more space elsewhere. Even though this is a nice clean hotel, with modern / updated appointments, the dirty little secret is that you have the main highway going through Taupo just below you. Perhaps our room was in the worst location (although hard to imagine since all rooms are pretty close to each other) and we heard the trucks hitting their airbrakes all night, decelerating down the hill into Taupo. I put in earplugs every night we slept there and still had trouble with the noise. First hotel in a long time that I've spent that kind of money and didn't sleep well.

  • Liked — new, spacious
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed at the Baycrest for one night after hiking Tongariro and before heading to Hawke's Bay. The lodge is located on a residential street heading out of town, but still has views of the lake, though it is not lakefront. We stayed in a downstairs room that had an outside spa tub. It was chilly outside, but it was so nice to sit in the tub after a long day of hiking. The room was large, but nothing special. There was a kitchenette, big bathroom that included a towel warmer, and a pull-out couch in the bedroom. We didn't use any of the other services at the lodge. Although we had no problem with our room--nor would we have had a problem staying another night--I agree with the last review in that I wouldn't call the Baycrest the luxury accomodation that we hoped for. It was a decent motel. We stayed in many places during our New Zealand trip, both large and small, and this was definitely not one of our favorites.

  • Liked — spa tub
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2006

We stopped here for the night on our way to Hawkes Bay. We had booked the ground floor room so as to have the outdoor spa....but it was absolutley freezing in Taupo when we arrived so we asked to be tranferred upstairs to a spa bath room. Owner was more than helpful.The bathrooms are huge and the overall rooms are spacious enough. The only thing that I feel was not quite right was the term "luxury" accommodation.....having stayed many places I guess one finds many establishments have their own way of rating their quality and it isn't a consistent ruling at all. This is still a lovely place to stay...but when I think of luxury I guess I see more to it.
It is well located and has views to the lake and mountains.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich Spa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2006

We stayed in this beautiful part of North Island for 4 nights on honeymoon in March 2006.

The owners, Neville and Sandy, were both very welcoming and booked some of our activities for us including the one-day Tongariro Crossing hike (definitely worth it!) and the Taupo Tandem Skydive (even more worth it!!). Both trips picked us up from outside the lodge too.

We stayed in a ground floor apartment with its own private garden complete with an outdoor natural spa water pool, which was really good to relax in after a day's walking. The lodge's swimming pool was also warm and relaxing.

The lodge is located on the airport side of Taupo and about 15 minutes walk from the town centre.

This was our best stay during our honeymoon and gave us the perfect start!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ah135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Property: Baycrest Lodge
Address: 79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#12 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing