We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tub”
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baycrest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in the downstairs room with the tub outside. It was so relaxing! Take bubble bath & have a bubble bath outside! Romantical! The room was big & very clean. Very comfy bed. Not far from town center so could easily walk into town about 20 minutes I would guess.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 314 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Thank you for the friendly service. Good value for money, close to the shops and restaurants, but out of range from noise and traffic. We only stayed for 1 night, but wish we could stay longer. Lovely spacious, clean apartments with everything needed and more. The spa pool just outside the room was very private and relaxing. Some of the carparks where a bit narrow, so we struggled to get in and out with our car, but at least they have off street parking for free. So, other than that, we can't complain. Highly recommended and we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZanelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in an upstairs room, as all the ones downstairs with a thermal pool was all booked. Kind of glad we did, we had a wonderful view across the lake, our balcony was private and quiet. The room was very clean and fresh. I used to own a home cleaning company and so I am very fussy and I give everywhere I stay a good looking over, I couldn't find fault-so well done to the cleaning people. The bed was lovely and cosy, the heat pump was fabulous and only took minutes to warm the room. We ordered a cooked breakfast in the morning, excellent value for money, very well presented and more than enough on the plate-bacon yummy! We will definitely stay again. Thanks for a welcome weekend escape.

Room Tip: Downstairs for a thermal pool but no view, upstairs for a view and a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our second stay at Baycrest and once again we were very pleased. Our room was tastefully furnished and was warm and clean. The king size bed was comfortable and the private thermal tub was a real treat. Our host Simon was as usual very hospitable and accommodating and our overall experience at Baycrest Lodge was excellent. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Exactly what we were looking for, we will definitely be back. We stayed in an upstairs room & the balcony was nice & large, yet sheltered, so it maintained the privacy we craved without interrupting the gorgeous view. The room was also large & warm, the bed was heaven & I loved a nice quiet soak in the spa every night (wasn't too keen on mad dashes to & from a plunge pool in the middle of winter!).
The hosts were fabulous - very friendly & approachable.
It ticked all the right boxes for us, very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Baycrest Lodge has tastefully furnished rooms and comfortable seating arrangements - no old fashioned floral or dreary furnishings here. The bed was superbly comfortable, the room was warm and the private out door thermal pool was divine on a freezing night. Everything was spotlessly clean and the kitchen area was well equipped. I am very choosy about where I stay and this motel ticks all the boxes.It's good value for money and I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs if you want a lake view and downstairs if you want the private thermal pool - we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had stayed here many years ago (last time was 2008), and about 3 times previously before that, and decided to visit again. Well, nothing had changed - this is sometimes a good thing - like the fabulous views are still there, but so are the drapes and the same interior fitout. I'm not saying the interiors need to be completely re-furbished every year, but hotel/motel rooms do get tired and need a freshen up every 3-5 years or so. We still enjoyed our stay, but will probably try somewhere newer next time. Wish they would use nicer toiletries too. I notice things like this! The soap bars were so tiny they kept falling through the metal rungs in the shower holder, and the shampoo/conditioner was horrible.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have the best lake/mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#2 of 68 in Taupo
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#12 of 68 in Taupo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Address: 79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $139 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing