We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baycrest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Clean and comfortable. Good nights sleep. I would give a rating of 3.5 (Good) if possible. Better than average but nothing that made me feel i would definately stay again. The 4 star ratings in NZ seem to vary greatly and in my mind this one just scraped through. However, overall good and would suggest to other people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    63
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
160
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The room was lovely the staff were very helpful will definitely be going back, the spa bath was awesome

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I booked this place for my husband's 30th because I read the upstairs room had a view and spa bath. The view was semi blocked but a building so wasn't exactly spectacular. The spa bath was very nice, and the room was nice, warm and clean. It did smell a bit funny when we first go there, but was fine after airing it out a bit. The balcony was big, but again ruined because the views of the lake was blocked. The bed was big, but as it was two singles pushed together it was a bit awkward and uncomfortable for a couple. The service was fantastic though and the outdoor heated pool was a bonus too. The kitchen facilities were good and the room was very spacious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255115Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Very comfortable & convenient place to stay - definitely good value for the amount we paid for our 2 night stay (this was an internet special) which included breakfast for 2 on one of the days. Room was spacious & clean (upstairs room). There was a choice of lighting which meant at night it was easy to read. Had problmes receiving wifi at times but was always able to connect in the bar area alongside the pool. Would definitely stay here again on future visits to Taupo

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here en route from Auckland to Hawke's Bay. The room, King size bed and views of the Lake were all very good. The staff were very helpful. An excellent stop over.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerandjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My partner and my mum and stepdad spent 3 days exploring Taupo and staying at Baycrest really helped that be a perfect few days, even in the middle of winter. The rooms have lovely views of the lake, all have spa baths, huge beds (KIng), huge balcony and plenty of self-catering facilities - and you can have a thermal tub if you wish too (downstairs rooms). You can order a variety of breakfast to be brought to your room and you get a paper every day. We were looked after very well, and it was great to see that anything you're throwing away can be recycled easily from your room. Great!

Room Tip: If you want a superb view of the lake choose an upstairs room (without thermal tub).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A great location and we loved the spa pool. The room was toasty and warm, considering the freezing temperatures outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sekta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.6 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Property: Baycrest Lodge
Address: 79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#12 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing