We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious accommodation”
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baycrest Lodge
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious accommodation”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We spent 2 wonderful nights in an upstairs unit with a lovely view of the lake. The unit comprised of a spacious and tastefully decorated bedroom/lounge area with double doors leading to a big private & covered balcony equipped with a table & chairs. There was a kitchenette with microwave, cooktop & dishwasher and a comfy couch and table setting in the “lounge” part. The bathroom was large and included a spa as well as a separate shower. Nice quiet location although a bit far from the restaurants. Being winter we chose to drive to/from there instead of walk. Only down side was the parking which was a bit squishy. The place was pretty full as it was a weekend so it and it was on a first in best dressed basis. Perhaps a designated spot for each unit would have been better?
Otherwise a great stay and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have Lake views. Downstairs rooms have courtyards with thermal spas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikiflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    63
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
160
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our family stayed here for 2 nights. We were pleasantly surprised to find our clothings folded properly and room was clean and tidy when we return at the end of the day.

Host was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Whether for a summer holiday, a mid winter break, or anything in between, Baycrest's Taupo location, along with it's restored five star rating, thermal pools including ground floor private ones and always welcoming and friendly hosts, makes it a great place for a recouperating rest, or a base for local and regional outdoor adventures. We've already booked to go back!
Anna & Denis (Wellington, NZ)

Room Tip: We prefer executive family room with thermal tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indirapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We would recommend everyone to stay here as we had a wonderful time, the place was spotless and staff were very friendly and helpfull. We really enjoyed the thermally heated pool to relax in the evening not to mention having the bar so close for refreshments.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms fantasic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle45566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our last stay at Baycrest Lodge, as we do everytime we visit.

We have been regular visitors to Baycrest Lodge for quite a few years now and we have noticed that since Simon & Marise Cox became the proprietors that they have brought a new level of excellence to the service and the amenities provided at this lovely venue.

We especially LOVE the hot water lagoon pool, which is so relaxing at the end of the day to enjoy.

Simon and Marise a fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We now consider them great friends:)

We will never stay anywhere else in Taupo!

Kindest regards

Romela & Marcus McLelland

Room Tip: The Family Corner Suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alchemy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We had an upstairs room which was great. Views over the lake, the evenings with the sunsets were superb. We only had a couple of nights here. Nice big room, well appointed even with an i-pod docking station and good plunger coffee. Really warm with the thermal heated floors. we arrived a bit late but still had a warm greeting. We were truley made to feel welcome throughout our whole stay, nothing seemed too much trouble. Oh and some free internet as well. Outdoor heated pool and a nice guest bar area. This was a really nice place to stay, Certainely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles_philips67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Highly recommend this motel. Immaculately clean. Great service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellfamilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Property: Baycrest Lodge
Address: 79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#12 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing