We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven't been this impressed in a long time!!!!!”
Review of Vine Eatery & Bar

Vine Eatery & Bar
Ranked #8 of 141 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our talented chefs invite you to indulge in the dishes that have inspired our Mediterranean & NZ influenced menus. Our extensive tapas menu is designed to be shared, and we also offer a full a-la-carte menu for those wanting a more NZ traditional approach to dining. There's awesome Allpress coffee if you just want to relax and a full bar specializing in whisky, craft beer and a huge wine selection reflecting over 25 years in hospitality and wine Along with the many varying areas to enjoy, we have private areas such as 'The Balcony' and 'The Vintage Room' upstairs for groups of ten or more. Specialising in Long Table Shared Plate Dinners' makes Vine Eatery & Bar the perfect place for larger groups who are looking for something a little different and entertaining. For this we offer affordable $45 to $65 including a full tapa menu at $49. All options include dessert and can be paired with some great beverage options. For more casual gatherings we have some amazing platters full of fresh delicious meats, seafood and local produce. Open daily from 11am - Coffee by the fire, lunch, dinner or a drink and catch-up with friends, we look forward to hosting you soon.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well, after an extremely disappointing meal at a different restaurant in Taupo we were hesitant about dining out again and so decided to drive around and find a basic restaurant... We were drawn to the flames outside "the vine eatery" and so decided to check it out. We knew we were pushing it to get a table being 9pm on a Tuesday night and appreciated it hugely when they seated us with no problems.

Well, this was definitely not a basic restaurant. Being fine dining restaurant owners we are extremely picky of our food and quite often are very disappointed with our meals. The first awesome point of difference was being able to go over and choose our own wine from a huge wall of red and white wines. The white wine which was warm on the shelf was zap chilled and returned to our table within 2 minutes - perfectly chilled.

Our meals were exquisite, flavours were amazing with meat cooked to perfection. Entrees, mains and desserts were all of equal standard with the duck breast being my favourite.

Leanne was an incredible host, lots of personality, smiles and food and beverage knowledge.

Extremely impressed and would recommend to anyone anyday.

Congratulations team you've clearly worked hard and all the best for future trading.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amyrosecarlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Amyrosecarlyon,
Thank you for leaving your raving review about Vine Eatery, it's truly great to see you had such a nice time and I'm glad we were able to give you a good dining experience in Taupo after you had a dissapointing meal elsewhere. I've passed your comments onto the team, especially Leanne. We hope to see you next time you are in Taupo again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 517 of 767 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had our first New Zealand dinner at Vine. Beautiful restaurant and welcoming hostess. Our first two entrees arrived quickly. Paella balls were large and delicious. The portobello mushrooms were very sparse and oily. It was barely half a portion. Then the evening went downhill from there. The third entree arrived over 30 minutes later with no acknowledgement from the waitress on the delay. The restaurant had a very large group and it may have thrown off the kitchen staff. We had to ask for the check twice. I would return to this restaurant to give it a second chance.

Thank KukiniSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear KukiniSteve,
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your evening didn't go as it should have. I have spoken to our Head chef about the portion size on the mushrooms and the dish is designed at 100grams mushrooms served on the plate, sometimes we are supplied with smaller mushrooms, sometimes bigger ones. I've passed your comments on about the oilyness and this could be due to the use of macadamia nut filling. I have also spoken to the waitress of that evening and we acknowledge we should have given you a heads up there was going to be a delay, i'm very sorry this didn't happen. Hopefully we can make up for the mishaps next time you come in for dinner. all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I think this is one of the best Restaurants in Taupo, we were impressed with the Service, the ambience (which feels like a large warehouse with unique chandiers made out of wine bottles and wine glasses) and the menu. The food came out "as and when" it was prepared as it is Tapas, shared plate dining and the food choice was interesting, tasty and beautifully presented. We had the Oozing Cheese and Venison Meat Balls to start (which was very tasty), then we shared the Steak in Gorganzola sauce with Mashed Potato and Almond Beans, and the Chicken Breast stuffed with Olives, walnuts and Apple (both of which were delicious).....
The selection of wines is great, with wines on the menu by the glass or bottle and with the option to buy your own bottle from a large selection displayed against one wall, sold onsite at reasonable prices (which I thought was fantastic).
Would definately recommend this to anyone who likes interesting, flavoursome food and nice wine in a lovely relaxed and warm environment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KELLY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Kelly R, how lovely to read you had such a nice time and you truly capture in your review what we are all about, sharing meals among friends, in a relaxed environment. Thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Took family that were visiting from Australia. As usual the food was great, service let it down a little on the night as one of our dishes wasn't available but we weren't told, it just didn't turn up we were told when we asked about it that it was not available. However we still loved it and so did our daughter and grandson.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank di k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Di K, it's very good to see you have already visited us three times and possibly more, and you still love coming here! I'm sorry about the mix up about the dish not being available, obviously this should have been made clear to you at the beginning. I do hope everything else made up for it. thank you for your review and see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stopped here for a late afternoon drink after walking the shops of Taupo.
The atmosphere and décor is lovely giving the feel of an Italian café, with the vines inside.
Great service, with the barperson offering me a sample of two bubblies as I was unfamiliar with both brands. We'll be back.

Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Nix51, thank you for your review, we have been working very hard to make sure this great big building is warm and inviting too, i can tell by your comments we have succeeded! hope to see you next time if you're in Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Eatery & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Vine Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing