We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Vine Eatery & Bar

Vine Eatery & Bar
Ranked #11 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our talented chefs invite you to indulge in the dishes that have inspired our Mediterranean & NZ influenced menus. Our extensive tapas menu is designed to be shared, and we also offer a full a-la-carte menu for those wanting a more NZ traditional approach to dining. There's awesome Allpress coffee if you just want to relax and a full bar specializing in whisky, craft beer and a huge wine selection reflecting over 25 years in hospitality and wine Along with the many varying areas to enjoy, we have private areas such as 'The Balcony' and 'The Vintage Room' upstairs for groups of ten or more. Specialising in Long Table Shared Plate Dinners' makes Vine Eatery & Bar the perfect place for larger groups who are looking for something a little different and entertaining. For this we offer affordable $45 to $65 including a full tapa menu at $49. All options include dessert and can be paired with some great beverage options. For more casual gatherings we have some amazing platters full of fresh delicious meats, seafood and local produce. Open daily from 11am - Coffee by the fire, lunch, dinner or a drink and catch-up with friends, we look forward to hosting you soon.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent quality tapas meal with interesting variety. All dishes were presented beautifully. Value for money was good too. We would become regulars if we were lucky enough to live locally. Perhaps the service could be a little more prompt but they were helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CapsNLoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear CapsNLoui,
Thank you so much for your review, it's guests like you who make sure we are constantly on our toes! We will continue to work closely with our team to deliver the best service possible in Taupo!
We hope to see you back sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    177
    71
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DeVine Lunch Experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Day out in Taupo for a birthday treat, we stopped by the Vine eatery and from start to finish had the most pleasant lunch I've had in a very very long time. Great smile greeted us - helpful service, prompt delivery of drinks and the tastiest sharing plates ever!!! Highly recommend the duck and pork belly. Good wine selection, the chef's creations were superb and the overall atmosphere wonderful. Great price overall for the standard of what was produced.

The standard was set for the day and a special day made even more special.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imelda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear ImeldaTony
First of all, Happy belated birthday! I'm very happy to read you had such a great experience with us over lunch. It's always great to hear good feedback from guests and I will make sure your comments will get passed onto our team. See you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality has dropped......”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at Vine Eatery several times since it opened and have until now always been very impressed. We dined recently and the standard has dropped. While the meat dishes were all cooked well and true to description they all appeared with the same lettuce garnish with a swirl of the same Basalmic dressing - yes the lamb rack, duck breast, pork belly and the fish. We also booked at 6pm arrived on time and mentioned that we had a function at 8pm. We were asked if we were still happy to have our 6 dishes for the table filter over a period of time as is usual with tapas. We agreed as we had plenty of time. Well we had them all arrive simultaneously at 6.30!! As a result some were cold by the time we got to them. Come on team you need to up your game.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Michael L,

I'm very sorry to hear your recent visit to Vine Eatery wasn't up to our usual standards. I have passed on your comments about the garnish with the 'main' dishes and we will review our dishes accordingly. Furthermore I would like to apologise for the miscommunication between waiters and chefs in regards to your wish not to have all the dishes at the same time. We hope we can make it up to you in future and that you will come back to Vine Eatery when you are back in town. For now, I hope you have a lovely weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

In Taupo for the day from Hawke's Bay; Great ambiance and background music was well chosen and not too loud. Shared tapas were excellent. Staff were friendly and service was good. It was a Tuesday and easy to find a quiet corner for business lunch. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Baybud,
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and how fantastic to hear you enjoyed your lunch! We strive to create the perfect ambiance or both business guests or whoever comes in for a casual lunch, I'm glad we achieved this! We hope to see you when you are in town next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
522 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“3 meals in 3 days - so it's got to be good”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Under new management - The Vines Eatery is a fantastic place to eat. So good that we ate there 3 times in 3 days!!! Their specialty is "shared plates" - which comprises smaller servings so that you get to try more dishes by sharing. We particularly enjoyed the "Minikins Pumpkin" off the specials board - a small baked pumpkin stuffed with Beef Stroganoff. This is a different type of menu but we love it - and by the numbers eating there so do lots of others. very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear John S,

Thank you so much for you lovely review. We are so happy to read you enjoyed your meals on all three occasions. The minikin pumpkins are indeed a very special dish and we have received so many great comments about it. Thank you also for the great comments about our team, we'll make sure these comments are passed on. See you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Eatery & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Vine Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing