We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai salad”
Review of Vine Eatery & Bar

Vine Eatery & Bar
Ranked #20 of 146 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our talented chefs invite you to indulge in the dishes that have inspired our Mediterranean & NZ influenced menus. Our extensive tapas menu is designed to be shared, and we also offer a full a-la-carte menu for those wanting a more NZ traditional approach to dining. There's awesome Allpress coffee if you just want to relax and a full bar specializing in whisky, craft beer and a huge wine selection reflecting over 25 years in hospitality and wine Along with the many varying areas to enjoy, we have private areas such as 'The Balcony' and 'The Vintage Room' upstairs for groups of ten or more. Specialising in Long Table Shared Plate Dinners' makes Vine Eatery & Bar the perfect place for larger groups who are looking for something a little different and entertaining. For this we offer affordable $45 to $65 including a full tapa menu at $49. All options include dessert and can be paired with some great beverage options. For more casual gatherings we have some amazing platters full of fresh delicious meats, seafood and local produce. Open daily from 11am - Coffee by the fire, lunch, dinner or a drink and catch-up with friends, we look forward to hosting you soon.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Good friendly service, food came out quickly , tasty food.

Nice touch the friendly Brazilian chef coming out end of meal to check how meals had gone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean-mulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Sean-Mulholland,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal, and yes Reggie is always in for a chat, he loves to connect with the guests whenever he can. His food and kitchen philosophy is all about sharing, coming together to enjoy meals in company of good friends. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 650 of 889 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great food, awesome wine. Second visit and still yummy though the menu had changed. Even had a great pasta meal for my 3 yr old.

Thank Lucyjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Lucyjsmith, Thank you so much for your comments, It's great to read we're able to tantalize taste buds of all ages! We hope to see you again when you're in Taupo next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Casual dining and amazing food. Service was excellent. Just enough attention! Platter was outstanding with the medium being enough for four people. Blue cheese and walnut salad was delish! Great place to chill out with a nice crisp white wine after a few hours shopping. Perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 526Karen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear 526Karen1960, Thank you for your lovely comments, I will make sure to pas these on to the whole team. That platter has been such a hit this week, it is a great way to try a little bit of everything while enjoying some downtime with a glass of wine. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

As we ate there over the Easter weekend the restaurant was very busy so we were willing to forgive them the slow service. We were advised by the wait staff that the menu was designed to be shared plates and suggested that we should order 2 plates per person. This took us back a bit as they each cost around $23 which even by Auckland standards is a bit steep.

The food was adequate but we were disappointed that they were unable to supply any gluten free bread & offered rice crackers as an alternative...... Not much use for dipping into the excellent olive oil.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Zamgal, Thank you for taking your time writing this review, without guest feedback we can’t improve. Thank you for your patience over Easter weekend, yes we were quite busy! All of our salads and mains to share are roughly equal to an entrée, we recommend to order 2 each and to share these amongst the guests at the table, yet it’s always a guessing game whether people are hungry enough to order 2 each and we leave it to their discretion. The price range in our menu is anywhere from $13,50 to $23 or $75 if you share a Chef’s sampler platter. I’m sorry we weren’t able to provide gluten free bread, I understand rice crackers and Divinity olive oil don’t go together that well and this won’t happen again. We do hope to see you again in future so we can WOW you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very friendly staff and reasonably attentive. The food was a major disappoinent. Nothing Thai in the green salad, the duck tasted off ( mentioned to the staff), and the gourmet herb potatoes were enormous, cold and flavourless. The beef tenderloin was the only saving grace despite being a bit over done. The kids rated their meals as average but small, we weren't given the heads up that the chicken nibbles were just that and didn't come with anything else. $133 for 2 adults and 3 hungry kids later we left, very sad as it seemed such a nice environment and a central location in taupo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Map68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Manager at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Map68, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I’m sorry we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments about the salad and duck and kids meals have been taken on board, yet we’re not sure why the duck tasted off, as it was a new delivery the day before and we haven’t received similar comments. We hope to see you back in future and I will assure you we will do everything in our power to make sure you enjoy your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Eatery & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Vine Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing