We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vine Eatery & Bar

Vine Eatery & Bar
Ranked #11 of 134 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our talented chefs invite you to indulge in the dishes that have inspired our Mediterranean & NZ influenced menus. Our extensive tapas menu is designed to be shared, and we also offer a full a-la-carte menu for those wanting a more NZ traditional approach to dining. There's awesome Allpress coffee if you just want to relax and a full bar specializing in whisky, craft beer and a huge wine selection reflecting over 25 years in hospitality and wine Along with the many varying areas to enjoy, we have private areas such as 'The Balcony' and 'The Vintage Room' upstairs for groups of ten or more. Specialising in Long Table Shared Plate Dinners' makes Vine Eatery & Bar the perfect place for larger groups who are looking for something a little different and entertaining. For this we offer affordable $45 to $65 including a full tapa menu at $49. All options include dessert and can be paired with some great beverage options. For more casual gatherings we have some amazing platters full of fresh delicious meats, seafood and local produce. Open daily from 11am - Coffee by the fire, lunch, dinner or a drink and catch-up with friends, we look forward to hosting you soon.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have never written a poor restaurant review, but my experience last week at The Vine Eatery has sent me to the computer. I was at The Vine Eatery with several friends and ordered the lamb rump. I got 4 tiny pieces of lamb on my plate with 3 piece of polenta (the polenta was ok) for $22.50 which was the worst value for money I have ever had anywhere I have eaten. They said that it was not a main meal but a shared plate....whether it was a shared plate or a main meal, it was a very mean and miserable portion. I would never return and would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZloyalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevineeatery, Owner at Vine Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your dinner with us and didn’t accept our attempts at the time to rectify the situation. I am glad the rest of your group enjoyed themselves and I hope this doesn’t put you off returning to Taupo – we have a great collection of eclectic eating out options in the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    165
    67
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, wine, decor and knowledgeable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My birthday dinner a successful choice. Every encounter with staff enjoyable and helpful, each dish delicious, selected wines good value, and comfortable atmosphere. If it can remain consistent it'd be a best yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyLoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow! This place is fantastic, food, service, chef all A1+++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed eating here on a Saturday night, and would definetely recommend this restaurant to others! So welcoming, friendly, and offering a fun way to dine (tapas style/shared plates), this is THE place to go to in Taupo. So pleased we chose to dine here.....see you again in the future! Thanks

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elliot749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park Village, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'll become regulars! Great food & wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came for lunch and then come back for dinner! Great choice of wines, food was just delish! We shared the plates but it was hard to share equally as the food was so nice. We didn't leave a crumb. We met Head Chef Reginaldo who made an effort to pass by the tables and check everyone was happy with their food. Great to meet you. Over all really enjoyed our lunch and dinner, my thoughts are this is the Best restaurant in Taupo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvs2winendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our party of six thoroughly enjoyed our shared meal at Vine Eatery. Food was delicious, service was great, atmosphere was warm and friendly. A great place to go for a casual meal out. Selection of wines was impressive. Would love to go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Eatery & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Vine Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing