We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huka Falls up close!”

Huka Falls River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huka Falls up close!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were looking for a tour and found them. It was a cold and rainy day, booked it and were the only people on the tour this day, others were a no show. So the captain Nigel took us out to preceded to tell us about the river, plants/trees and the buildings along the way. Shared information about the black swans, scared grounds. The best part was the waterfall. He not only told us about the power but took us close to the boiling line of the river. That was something to see/feel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbuds50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    60
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Ideal trip for families"”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had such an enjoyable time on the huka falls river cruise. My daughter was a bit reluctant on going on a fast boat so upon booking I asked if the cruise was suitable for children and Nigel (the skipper) assured me that the trip was very safe and was a slow boat cruise down the river, which it was. My husband, Son (12yrs), Daughter (6yrs) and I all found Nigel's commentary very interesting and informative, we all learnt something new. We took some great photos by the Huka Falls and along the river. This cruise was the highlight of our weekend stay in Taupo, it was also very reasonably priced - would definitely recommend, 15/10 :-) (And Nigel gave us some good advise about other great attractions and restaurants suitable for our family in Taupo too, thanks so much!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blossom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to see the river and the falls”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the "slow boat" river and Huka falls cruise, as distinguished from the transport by jet boat. While it lacks some of the adrenaline of the jet boat rides, it offers a much better river and falls experience as the boat cruises sedately along the river. Niger was our skipper for the day, and he was an encyclopedia of information about the history, flora and fauna of the river. The best part of the "slow boat" is that it is propeller driven,which means it can snuggle right up under the falls for a very close and personal look, and great photo opportunities. (The jet boats, in contest, lose all jet power in the aerated foam near the falls, and can only dash in an float back out.... not bad, but not such a great chance for pictures!) The trip takes an hour and a half, and is highly recommended. (Oh,.. and free coffee and tea!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome way to see Huka Falls”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had an amazing leisurely cruise up the river. Nigel, our captain, who has a great sense of humour, is very clued up on the wildlife ,flora and fauna. Couldn't believe just how close we got to the bottom of the falls!! We just sat there for a good couple of minutes, giving us plenty of time for the most amazing photo's.
Not just a quick flick around and pause like in the jet boats. We would highly recommend this trip for families as it is excellent value for money. tea and coffee are free also.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JUDY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Little Ones”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently chose to do this specific cruise during a recent trip to Taupo and I'm so glad we did. I found it to be a very safe/child friendly activity the whole family was able to enjoy including my 2.5 yr old. Dave's commentary was both informative & insightful. Loved how he is so in touch with the various species of wildlife on the river and we walked away that day as very happy customers with lots of awesome pics to prove it. Thank you so much :))

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sacha_Maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Falls River Cruise also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Falls River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing