We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Barbary

Sail Barbary
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.64*
and up
Maori Rock Carvings Sailing Trip in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail Barbary to the Maori Rock Carvings on Great Lake Taupo, New Zealand. Sail Barbary is an all-year-round top rated Taupo activity; offering relaxation, fun and adventure on the water the Kiwi way. Taupo's Maori Rock Carvings are possibly the largest of their type in the world and are a must-see attraction, only accessible by boat. Resembling the remains of ancient Maori civilization, they were created in the late 70s by a group of artists led by artist John Randall and reach a height of over 10 meters! Barbary has been offering sailing cruises to these carvings for over 30 years. Soak up the sun or roll up your sleeves; you can take the wheel, help hoist the sails or just sit back and enjoy the view. You’re guaranteed amazing photo opportunities as you experience one of life’s postcard moments. You can even BYO (Bring Your Own) food and beverages. Things really couldn’t get more Kiwi! As New Zealand’s only commercially operated electric yacht - We're equipped for all conditions; if the wind dies down, Barbary's eco-friendly electric engine kicks in, moving her noiselessly through the water. When the wind is up, you can enjoy sailing without salty sea-spray and noisy outboard motors. Warm ponchos are supplied. Sail Barbary cruises to the Maori Rock Carvings depart daily at 10.30am, 2.00pm, and 5.00pm (*5.00pm Summer Only). As New Zealand’s only floating cinema – a Movie Cruise Charter makes for a fantastic and unique night out. Enjoy the sunset, then sit back on a comfy bean bag and enjoy a blockbuster movie on the sails under the summer’s starry night sky. Warm ponchos are supplied (or simply cuddle up to someone special!). We don’t promise the best cruise on the lake, we deliver it!
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Incredible.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you are looking for a great way to see the Lake, book this tour. It is amazing quality for the price - and you even get a complimentary drink. The crew was awesome, really knowledgeable about the area, and cracked a few good jokes as well. The boat is beautiful and comfortable. We went up to the bow and felt like we were alone - lots of space to move around on deck. Had a great time jumping off into the water near the carvings as well. We felt rather lucky to be on board as we sailed pass other vessels going on the same tour, we clearly picked the best boat. Couldn't be happier with this trip. Thank you so much to the crew - you guys were great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
thanks for the beaut review mate. we do try to please. regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    59
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great time on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

this was one of the best things we did in New Zealand. The skipper was the best tour guide I have ever come across. we did the 5 P.M dinner cruise and as well as having a great sailing experience we had a gourmet BBQ while enjoying the maori carvings. I would not hesitate in recommending this cruise to all and sundry

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Cheers mate for the review, we do try to please. So happy to hear you enjoyed it we hope to see you again.Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Sensational, loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went out on the 5pm cruise and loved every minute of it! When we boarded we had a range of nationalities and ages and even two children. I thought this might be interesting but nothing was a problem, everything was taken care of nice cold drinks the most unreal burgers (Burger Fuel eat your heart out) ponchos to keep warm when the wind got up, confy seating, good music, rockin unreal service! The host were very knowledgeable about all the history and culture of the area. The swimming opportunities were plenty, we were even asked if we want to jump off the rocks but the wind was up a bit so I chickened out. But nothing lost as the wind meant good proper sailing! Hard to beat the world over and I have done many boat trips around the world. Seansational

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the review mate. We can accommodate a diverse audience and the experience is made by the variety of people we have aboard and we love them all.
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sail away, sail away, sail away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from this trip and it was awesome. Lovely captain Jamie, very knowledgeable and funny! Good music and fun sailing. Great burgers as well, definitely worth the extra money! Thank you for an awesome evening, we are more than likely going to return when we come back in a few weeks and do the sunset tour. Thank you!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyFineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Cheers guys, i enjoyed your company and i look forward to you coming back for the sunset cruise. Thanks for the review
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“be aware of broken promise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were in doubt which Sail cruise to choose Barbary or Fearless. Apparently both offer the same 1.5 hrs trip to Maori rock carvings with sightseeing and swimming. We decided on Barbary because yacht looked more comfortable.
It was a rare very hot day and put on our swimming clothes expecting very refreshing swimming. The skipper promised to allocate time for swimming. Swimming was listed on their ads and we didn’t expect any problem. But when we got to Maori rock carvings the skipper told us it was too crowdy for comfortable swimming and it was better to swim Acacia bay. But in Acacia bay we were told that it was not good place for anchoring etc. Finally we came back to Taupo without any swimming. It was very disappointing to see that tourists from Fearless were enjoying swimming but we were not. If you want to have a good swim during your trip, try to avoid Barbary. It would be better to book Fearless.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank OMatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
On the day you mentioned we had a lot of children aboard and the conditions would not allow us to Moore the boat safely so as to create an environment safe for all to swim. We will always stop for a swim so long as it is safe to do so and 98% of the time it is. You mention the other boat did stop, well i cannot comment on their safety standards but we set ours very high.Check out our photos and other reviews and you will see they have loved our experience and If you don't for some reason we will give you a full refund. Sorry you didn't get the trip you wanted. Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Barbary also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Sail Barbary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing