We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet is the way to go”
Review of Sail Barbary

Sail Barbary
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.89*
and up
Maori Rock Carvings Sailing Trip in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sail Barbary to the Maori Rock Carvings on Great Lake Taupo, New Zealand. Sail Barbary is an all-year-round top rated Taupo activity; offering relaxation, fun and adventure on the water the Kiwi way. Taupo's 14-meter high Maori Rock Carvings are possibly the largest of their type in the world and are a must-see attraction, only accessible by boat. Sail Barbary has been offering sailing cruises to these carvings since 1983. Soak up the sun or roll up your sleeves; you can take the wheel, help hoist the sails or just sit back and enjoy the view. You’re guaranteed amazing photo opportunities as you experience one of life’s postcard moments. You can even BYO (Bring Your Own) food and beverages. Things really couldn’t get more Kiwi! As New Zealand’s only two commercially operated electric yachts - We're equipped for all conditions; if the wind dies down, Barbary's eco-friendly electric engine kicks in, moving noiselessly through the water. When the wind is up, you can enjoy sailing without salty sea-spray and noisy outboard motors. Warm ponchos are supplied. Sail Barbary cruises to the Maori Rock Carvings depart daily at 10.30am, 2.00pm, and 5.00pm (*5.00pm Summer Only). We don’t promise the best cruise on the lake, we deliver it!
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I went on an afternoon excursion with Sail Barbary in early December, before the tourist season really ramps up. We had a great time! The weather was cloudy and blustery, but we were offered jackets to keep us warm. Jaime kept up an entertaining patter describing the shoreline, its history and all that touristy goodness. Steady wind, but nothing worrisome.

And that man can plop that ship about 10 feet away from those rock carvings. Excellent seamanship. He made it look so easy! We each took a turn steering on the way back along the return trip. Oh, and hot drinks! Did I mention the hot drinks?

On top of that, he recommended a friend's business for a wine tour that was likewise an excellent time. We couldn't ask for more.

Thank Alex_Furlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Choice review, thank you. In the right conditions i can get the boat within 2 feet of the carvings. we do try to please so i am glad you had a great time. Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 533 of 721 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went out on Lake Taupo today with Sail Barbary. Really friendly skipper/owner. Boat was immaculately clean and very comfortable to spend a few hours on. Great value trip too - thoroughly recommended!

Thank TheFoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Everything has a place and a boat should always be well maintained and tidy and this is what we do. We run a professional operation and take pride in what we do. Thanks for the review
Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Yes, you MUST enjoy the lake as it was designed for... on a sailboat. Comfortable yacht, Great skipper and crew, excellent burgers, the only way to see the carvings. Warm, waterproof ponchos were perfect for the end of the voyage.

Thank Tessie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for the super duper review. Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A very blowey day so us on the lake with 2.5m waves and the Captain said she would see if we could get around, the kids all loved it and it was pretty serious crashing into the waves.

Captain turned us around as she didn't feel safe but no-one complained (although they offered refunds) and we still had a nice, if windy, cruise back. Enjoyable and we can't blame them for the weather. Boat was very professionally presented and deck hand amazing (Racheal I think) with a slightly concerned 8 year old.

Thank Stuart_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Rough days can be a blast and we will always offer a money back guarantee if we are unable to make the carvings or you do not enjoy the experience for any reason. Safety and comfort always comes first. Our crew are very good at what they do and they enjoy it. Thanks for the review regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were welcomed by Sarah who was very hospitable and professional. Our cruising evening was very calm so the electric motor was a necessity but really not noticeable. Hamburger meal was a highlight, you had to dislocate your jaw to eat it as it was HUGE and very delicious! The weather was kind and the Maori rock carvings spectacular. A great evening sailing with great hosts with a nice touch of humour. Excellent value for money; cruise and meal.

Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

A double jointed jaw is handy when you take on our burgers, Sarah is a true professional and she loves what she does. Thanks for the review Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Barbary also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Sail Barbary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing