We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”
Review of Sail Barbary

Sail Barbary
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.68*
and up
Maori Rock Carvings Sailing Trip in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sail Barbary to the Maori Rock Carvings on Great Lake Taupo, New Zealand. Sail Barbary is an all-year-round top rated Taupo activity; offering relaxation, fun and adventure on the water the Kiwi way. Taupo's 14-meter high Maori Rock Carvings are possibly the largest of their type in the world and are a must-see attraction, only accessible by boat. Sail Barbary has been offering sailing cruises to these carvings since 1983. Soak up the sun or roll up your sleeves; you can take the wheel, help hoist the sails or just sit back and enjoy the view. You’re guaranteed amazing photo opportunities as you experience one of life’s postcard moments. You can even BYO (Bring Your Own) food and beverages. Things really couldn’t get more Kiwi! As New Zealand’s only two commercially operated electric yachts - We're equipped for all conditions; if the wind dies down, Barbary's eco-friendly electric engine kicks in, moving noiselessly through the water. When the wind is up, you can enjoy sailing without salty sea-spray and noisy outboard motors. Warm ponchos are supplied. Sail Barbary cruises to the Maori Rock Carvings depart daily at 10.30am, 2.00pm, and 5.00pm (*5.00pm Summer Only). We don’t promise the best cruise on the lake, we deliver it!
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The sail boat was great - so quiet and peaceful. Even when we did need to use the electric motor it was quiet. Sarah our skipper was great, lots of historical knowledge about Taupo and the Mouldi clan and she's a very skilled sailor. The actual rock carvings were nice to see. They were done only about 30years ago ( not by Maori either) which makes them a little less grand. All around a great trip on the lake.

Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Nice to hear Sarah is looking after her groups, yes she is a very skilled Sailor and she grew up on lake Taupo so her knowledge of the area has had plenty of time to accumulate. I am glad you enjoyed your experience on Barbary.

Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rock carvings"
in 67 reviews
"lake taupo"
in 146 reviews
"electric motor"
in 19 reviews
"warm ponchos"
in 15 reviews
"captain jamie"
in 15 reviews
"beautiful boat"
in 16 reviews
"bean bags"
in 14 reviews
"fleece lined ponchos"
in 7 reviews
"the bean"
in 15 reviews
"friendly skipper"
in 8 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 16 reviews
"hot drinks"
in 12 reviews
"relaxing trip"
in 10 reviews
"relaxing afternoon"
in 8 reviews
"evening cruise"
in 11 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 8 reviews
"great value for money"
in 12 reviews
Filter

618 - 622 of 788 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

A pleasant morning activity, and very reasonably price, but not as good as we were hoping based on reviews. We were unlucky that due to some quite strong winds and large waves, we were not able to get very close to the rock carvings. We felt there could have been some more commentary on other features of the lake as suggested on the leaflet. The speakers on board were not even used our tour so the tiny bit of commentary on the carvings could not be heard. There were a few people who were very into sailing and we felt there was more private discussions about this than about the lake itself.
Overall the cruise was ok but no better than others we have been on in other parts of the world. Would not bother doing it if we visited the area again.

Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi Ashley
Sorry to hear you did not have the trip you were expecting. Rough days on the lake can be testing for all involved. In extreme conditions the crew are advised to keep the vessel further out than normal and this is to ensure the safety of all aboard. The speakers we have aboard are for music when we have groups or we all feel like we need some tunes to groove too. I will look into a microphone for the speakers but we do prefer a more personal approach to our delivery of the history and knowledge of the area. We do pride ourselves on the experience we offer to our guests so it pains me to hear your experience was not up to par. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we have taken your comments aboard and will endeavor to continue to provide Taupos best Lake experience
Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a great time on the Barbary last weekend. My parents-in-law had nothing but positive things to say and the journey was the highlight of their holiday in NZ. Our 2 year old son enjoyed it immensely as well as he loved being out in the fresh air, looking at the water rushing past and spotting other boats on the water. The optional swim at the Maori carvings were the cream on the cake.
We particularly liked the fact that it was a guilt-free trip in the eco sense. The electric motor of the Barbary was whisper quiet and it kept the air fresh and sweet. A breath of fresh air indeed!

Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Oh yes we love the fresh air mate it makes our cruise all the more enjoyable. Thanks for the awesome review, so glad to hear the young fella enjoyed it as well as the outlaws. Come again
Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our Cruise on the Barbary was fantastic. Staff made the cruise enjoyable and provided a real Kiwi experience.
Would highly recommend taking a trip on the Barbary, ideal for couple's or families

Thank Justo109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thanks mate, we always love it when the locals come out and play in their back yard, come again mate we would love to have you.
Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The skipper (Jaime) is a very nice guy, you get free drinks (white wine and beers are cold, a must in summer!), a nice tour on Taupo lake, and you can contemplate the wonderful Maori sculptures amongst other things. If you're lucky you can also fish a big trout!
Highly recommended!

Thank Saul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

ah yes, catching a big trout can be a bit of fun, this is something we do when the wind is not blowing. Thanks for the review, it is mostly appreciated
Regards Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Barbary also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Sail Barbary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing