We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to see Taupo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Barbary

Sail Barbary
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.64*
and up
Maori Rock Carvings Sailing Trip in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail Barbary to the Maori Rock Carvings on Great Lake Taupo, New Zealand. Sail Barbary is an all-year-round top rated Taupo activity; offering relaxation, fun and adventure on the water the Kiwi way. Taupo's Maori Rock Carvings are possibly the largest of their type in the world and are a must-see attraction, only accessible by boat. Resembling the remains of ancient Maori civilization, they were created in the late 70s by a group of artists led by artist John Randall and reach a height of over 10 meters! Barbary has been offering sailing cruises to these carvings for over 30 years. Soak up the sun or roll up your sleeves; you can take the wheel, help hoist the sails or just sit back and enjoy the view. You’re guaranteed amazing photo opportunities as you experience one of life’s postcard moments. You can even BYO (Bring Your Own) food and beverages. Things really couldn’t get more Kiwi! As New Zealand’s only commercially operated electric yacht - We're equipped for all conditions; if the wind dies down, Barbary's eco-friendly electric engine kicks in, moving her noiselessly through the water. When the wind is up, you can enjoy sailing without salty sea-spray and noisy outboard motors. Warm ponchos are supplied. Sail Barbary cruises to the Maori Rock Carvings depart daily at 10.30am, 2.00pm, and 5.00pm (*5.00pm Summer Only). As New Zealand’s only floating cinema – a Movie Cruise Charter makes for a fantastic and unique night out. Enjoy the sunset, then sit back on a comfy bean bag and enjoy a blockbuster movie on the sails under the summer’s starry night sky. Warm ponchos are supplied (or simply cuddle up to someone special!). We don’t promise the best cruise on the lake, we deliver it!
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Best way to see Taupo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our Cruise on the Barbary was fantastic. Staff made the cruise enjoyable and provided a real Kiwi experience.
Would highly recommend taking a trip on the Barbary, ideal for couple's or families

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justo109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thanks mate, we always love it when the locals come out and play in their back yard, come again mate we would love to have you.
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    59
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent sail out on Taupo lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The skipper (Jaime) is a very nice guy, you get free drinks (white wine and beers are cold, a must in summer!), a nice tour on Taupo lake, and you can contemplate the wonderful Maori sculptures amongst other things. If you're lucky you can also fish a big trout!
Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
ah yes, catching a big trout can be a bit of fun, this is something we do when the wind is not blowing. Thanks for the review, it is mostly appreciated
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful experience and Jaimie is a great character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

It was an amazing experience for us to sail in such a beautiful boat. Jamie is also a great character, such a nice person to talk to and really looks after his guests so well. He will tell you all the interesting things there are to know about lake Taupo and Maori history while sailing and chilling out on the confortable bean bags on the deck.
I really hope we have the chance to do it again. The boat, the place and the company can not be better, we really recommend the experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rafael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Oh shucks you make me blush. thank you for your kind words, yes please do come back and do it again we would love to have you aboard
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hens night cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friends and I spent a few hours sailing around Lake Taupo on Barbary as part of a hens weekend. Jamie and Sarah were lots of fun and made us feel at home. Dinner was tasty, the ponchos warm and it was a unique way to celebrate with our bride. Also good being able to play our own music and have a drink or two on board. Highly recommended for any bridesmaids who are looking for something special to do in Taupo

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 300ninas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
You girls were a lot of fun to be around so i am glad you had a ball on Barbs. We wish the Bride to be an awesome life with her new man and we would love to see you back again, with a different hen of course.
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sail barbary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well worthy of excellent review. Just do it.You will not regret it. Excellent value and fun. Ownet operator works like a trojan for his money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank peeteedee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I enjoy what i do so the work comes easy. If you enjoyed your experience than the work was worth it. Thank you for your time to write this review.
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Barbary also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Sail Barbary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing