We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Taupo Holiday Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$126
$120
Hilton
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
$119
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$120
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$111
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$88
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
205
97
35
27
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
97
35
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barjumping pillowbig screenmovie screenlagoon poolpowered siteensuite cabinawesome holidaythe kitchencamping groundself contained cabingreat facilitiesgreat parkcamper vanclean facilitiesgreat poolgames room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 384 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the 10 person (2 rooms, 4 bunks, 1 Dbl bed) deluxe cabin. No toilet /shower, only basic kitchen facilities but we knew that when we booked.

The main reason for staying at Top ten is for the swimming pool and playground facilities. If you have children and don't mind the extra expense this is the best option in Taupo in my opinion.

Heated swimming pool is a good size but a bit deep for younger kids (my 4 yr old could not quite touch bottom of main pool so he hopped ).

The resort site is on a large slope but northerly aspect so you get really great sun through the day.

Toilets/shower blocks are clean and the outdoor areas look well maintained.

Our deluxe cabin was in a row of 3 or 4 attached cabins. Inside was reasonably clean for what it is and plenty of spare power points. Heating is excellent, they have a heat pump which does a great job.


TV was way too small for the viewing distance but you don't go to these places to watch TV.

Main complaint with the room was the walls are paper thin and adjacent cabin noise is amplified if anything.

It would have been nice if they included a small milk carton and a few teabags/coffee. It is highly unusual that they don't. But , there is an onsite shop where you can buy these but we were paying $190 a night it seemed a bit miserly they don't include for free.

They make you pay per person rather than per room so a single cabin can be very expensive if you use all beds.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort . You can get cheaper accommodation in Taupo but not with such great facilities.

Room Tip: Get an end cabin -- less neighbours is less noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made full use of all the facilities on offer, we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here with our 4 children in a standard cabin over the summer break. The aircon was greatly welcomed, the cabins were excellent for what we needed & very clean. I must say I missed the bed for weeks after as it was so comfortable. There is so much to do here and the staff are really helpful . the kids are already begging to go back. Thanks so much for a holiday well remember for years to come!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 199Kylies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review of our Resort. We love to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed their stay with us, if you are planning on coming back I would recommend checking out our website for our Hot Deals page!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We hired the cabin 107 for a night when relocating the family to Wellington. This 3 bedroom cabin was fantastic. The super king bed may have been the most plush bed I have ever slept in! The park seemed to have great facilities, we had a swim and the girls had a big play on the well equipped playground and the 'pillow' was awesome! We would definitely be back if passing through.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveNZHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We get many great comments about room 107, Wimbledon Cottage and especially the stunning Super-King beds. With all the facilities on offer we have plenty to keep the children entertained and even more if you come back during the school holidays! Come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The site itself is excellent, with very modern facilities and even a swimming pool which we used.

The location of the site however, is hardly scenic as it is very close to a major sports centre and the ring road (no noise). So, it almost feels as though it is in the middle of an industrial zone. If the location had have been a bit more scenic it would get 5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many thanks for the review, we're glad that you took time to enjoy the fabulous facilities. Being close to the main sports centres are a real plus for us as is our proximity to the highway but as you point out without the noise!! We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thanks for an awesome first camping experience. The staff were super helpful before, during and after our stay. The playground facilities were awesome. Our girls thought the jumping pillow was just fantastic!! The kitchen, shower facilities were all lovely, clean and modern. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 381AndreaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for the review Andrea, it's good to see that you enjoyed the Jumping Pillow so much and that all our facilities were good and clean! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews