We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent site, but odd location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Excellent site, but odd location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The site itself is excellent, with very modern facilities and even a swimming pool which we used.

The location of the site however, is hardly scenic as it is very close to a major sports centre and the ring road (no noise). So, it almost feels as though it is in the middle of an industrial zone. If the location had have been a bit more scenic it would get 5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for the review, we're glad that you took time to enjoy the fabulous facilities. Being close to the main sports centres are a real plus for us as is our proximity to the highway but as you point out without the noise!! We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    88
    30
    22
    19
See reviews for
188
89
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thanks for an awesome first camping experience. The staff were super helpful before, during and after our stay. The playground facilities were awesome. Our girls thought the jumping pillow was just fantastic!! The kitchen, shower facilities were all lovely, clean and modern. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for the review Andrea, it's good to see that you enjoyed the Jumping Pillow so much and that all our facilities were good and clean! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed over the Easter weekend in a deluxe cabin that slept 10. It was really clean with all that was promised in the description.
The pool was great and the kids spent hours on the bouncy cushion. The holiday programme that was run over the weekend was great the kids enjoyed free movies and lots of art activities, the lady running the programme obviously loved kids and did a fantastic job.
As I was in a room with my sister we asked that the King bed be seperated which was done, although the beds were very skinny once seperated. Over all a great stay and we will definately be back. This is our 3rd visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks Melanie, we had great time over Easter too, loads of happy guests!
The kids club is a great addition to our long weekends and school holidays and we receive heaps of great feedback about it especially the kids disco's and movie nights! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a fantastic facility. Has heaps of things to for the kids and family and the place is beautifully presented and well maintained and cleaned :) We had a fantastic time and have all ready booked for next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. really glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hosting you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First impresions were good. The property was clean and tidy as expected unfortuantlly was not a good experiance for our family. We booked well in advance mid December 2012, the property had very low ocupancy going by the empty units all around us. We were staying in a unit in a block of 5 from memory. Our fist night was great however when we came back to the unit for our second night after having no neighbours in our block of units at all the first night we were greeted to a large contingient of cars and trailers blocking access to our unit. The staff had decided to place a group of some 25 odd adults and kids when the complex was empty, right next door to our small unit. To be fair most of the group were supposed to be camping however not only did they hang around the unit taking up our small deck and smoking the whole time to the extent we had to close all the windows on a stinking hot day, we also had a dreadfull night listening to the screams and babies crying all night through the paper thin walls as the group camped in the unit in the end because thier tents leaked. It did not get better took 45 minutes to cook suasages on the barbacue provided because the gas was controlled (tried 2 and both the same). The outside toilets and kitchen were all locked so you could not clean the barbacue. Other people I spoke to also commended about the barbacue and locked doors. This is my first ever complaint after enjoying top tens around NZ. However after paying top dollar for three nights when the complex had units emty all over the place, why would you place all those people so close. We were glad to get out of there and would not recommend this property in Taupo.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank manninigfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Resort. We are very sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us. We had no knowledge of your problem until you came to check out. If we had been given the opportunity to recifiy the issues earlier, we would have been happy to speak to the family next door about having 20+ people in a 4 person room (not something we would have allowed) and could have moved someone (either you or them) to another room further away. Had you let us know at the time about these issues we would have fixed the problem in a timely manner and left all customers happy. We hope you do come and enjoy the Resort another time as you can see from other customers reviews it is a great place to stay. Unfortunately one family didnt respect your space or the fact that you were on holiday too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our friends and I were relocating a couple of motorhomes to Auckland and decided to stay at the Top10 Park.
What a wonderful spot - clean park, wonderful clean amenity block , good playground for kids and a nice pool. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

Well worth a stop with the only downside in that its too far to walk into town and there doesnt seem to be much around. However we caught a taxi and had a great meal out at JJS On Tap in town (a great place if you want a glorious steak and a few beers)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I must agree that the steaks at JJ's are excellent!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked last minute, and even with the Ironman being held, we still managed to get a cabin.
The unit was nice, clean and well laid out. Only gripe was a full ash tray on the outside table.
This is the second Top Ten park we have stayed at, and would stay at another again.
Check in and out was smooth as silk.
The heated pool is a good size, the kids loved the jumping pillows.
Even with a big event on, and lots of people at the park, it was quite.
Being on the cycle route for the ironman meant we could walk across the road and cheer the competitors on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKiwiandACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful facilities. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
2.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.8 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort

Property: Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Address: 41 Centennial Drive, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Passport Required. It's all here - everything you need for an instant holiday. Start relaxing from the moment you arrive. Lake Taupo Holiday Resort is a destination in itself with a spectacular tropical style pool with swim-up bar plus café, and being geothermally heated it will keep you lovely and warm year round. Located 5 minutes from Taupo city centre and sprawled across 8 hectares of park land, the resort is a hidden oasis surrounded by nature and offers comfortable, clean accommodation ranging from motels, cabins and sites for your campervan, RV, tent or boat. Boasting friendly kiwi service and extensive, modern facilities, guests enjoy free gas BBQ's, Wifi, an on-site shop and shared laundry facilities. A fishing bay is available to clean up your catch of the day and secure sites to park your boat or vessel. Cycle enthusiasts can also take advantage of secure, covered cycle storage and cycle cleaning facilities. Activities abound and entertainment facilities include New Zealand's first swimming pool with swim-up bar and café. The new pool provides hours of entertainment for the young and young at heart, with an underground cave, giant mushroom and play area for kids and a massive outdoor television playing movies or the latest sports game. New Zealand's largest jumping pillow, volleyball, basketball, petanque, chess, an adventure playground plus much more feature at the park too. Mountain bikes and go-karts are also available to hire. A short drive to Taupo town and other popular attractions the resort is also a great base for your greater Taupo adventure. Resort staff can book trout fishing, jet boating, bungy, sky diving activities and more. Whether on a family escape, couples getaway or group adventure, everything required for a relaxing, fun and effortless holiday can be found at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort. Experience our slice of paradise right here in New Zealand, once you stay a few days you won't want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing