We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family walk”

Craters of the Moon
Book In Advance
More Info
$231.01*
and up
Taupo Adventure Combo Tour including Scenic Helicopter Flight
More Info
$163.73*
and up
Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride and Whitewater Rafting
Ranked #6 of 68 things to do in Taupo
Attraction details
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family walk”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We took our 6 month old and 2 year old on this geothermal walk and it was perfect. A single stroller can be taken on this trail, but it was the perfect distance for our young kids. Not only was it very affordable, but also had enough things to look at without losing interest. The path is well kept and great for mobility.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    456
    286
    80
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real wild cheap geothermic experience”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Carters of the Moon really feels like landing out of this world or falling into a fantasy dragons' land. The water steam that comes from the holes and carters in the ground, the mud pools, and the weird coloration contributes to this out of the world feeling.
It is one of the cheapest and in my opinion the best geothermal experience you can get in New Zealand's geothermal region.

Like:
* Cheap
* Great geothermal forms

Don't Like:
* No geysers.

Bring: Walking shoes.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We arrived as it was being opened at 8.30, by the volunteer staff. My husband & I were the second couple in. Wandering around while it was deserted added to the other world atmosphere. As I am asthmatic Rotarua was going to be too much of a challenge so maybe there was more bubbling mud displayed up there but we liked our thermal walk tremendously.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little disappointing”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a low cost alternative to some other similar attractions. There was plenty of steam and craters but not much boiling mud. The walkways were very well maintained and made for easy navigation.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SMR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“worth saying I saw it but wouldn't do it a second time”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an interesting geological feature and they have done a good job of the pathways through the park but it is a bit boring. perhaps if I hadn't seen Yellowstone National Park in the US it might have been more impressive. Also, during our visit in October everything was a little brown and boring. The features were all basically the same.and the walk was long - I found myself wishing I was finished at the half way point.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vwhitecpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craters of the Moon also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Craters of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing