We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing weekend”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Greenwood Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Taupo, Taupo District, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
1 review
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Fanstastic spot right on the lake. Great for our group of couples staying the weekend for a wedding. Everything you could need. Had the best time, only downside was we couldn't spend enough time at the house due to prior commitments!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaBake...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another amazing visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is our 4th year staying at Greenwood Lodge and we once again had a fantastic stay. The house was impeccable as usual and we felt right at home as soon as we walked in the door. Tuk the Manager is fantastic and always goes above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We have already booked next years visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is fantastic
Liked least: Faultless
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
962idad
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights with with our parents, children and grandchildren. It a beautiful big place with plenty of rooms. Well equipped kitchen stocked with some goodies.
Plenty of towels,bathrobes and toiletries supplied. The hot pool was a real success. If there's any negatives to say it would be that the kitchen bin is too small and we couldn't find a high chair. If you have little ones maybe email them first. Great place can truly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowering
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot, right on the lake”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've been regulars at Greenwood for many years and it's consistently top-notch. You have space to spread out, the thermal pool is wonderfully relaxing, and the kitchen's big enough and equipped enough to entertain without hassle. Visit in winter when you'll really appreciate the pool and the fireplace. It's a little run-down in places, but then it's a '30s property so I call that character!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thermal pool
Liked least: Bathrooms/showers could have some love.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
506heidio
2 reviews
“Wonderful property - Amazing location ”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Greenwood Lodge. Plenty of space for the 5 couples that stayed there and everything is so pristinely presented. Sue and Tuk wonderful to deal with and we're looking forward to planning our next break away there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really nice group accommodation”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have been coming to Greenwood up to twice a year for probably the last 12 years. It truly is a great place to stay either for a group or with family. The thermal pool (reasonably common in Taupo) is a real feature, and the furnishings have had a recent tidy up. (The TV could do with an upgrade though.) Since the old Crown Road motorway has opened, you don't get the big trucks thundering past any more. The property management is always friendly and easy to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crockett2...
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Peaceful & Private”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I stayed at Greenwood for three nights, only a short distance from the centre of Taupo but the privacy and peacefulness what just what we needed. What a great place for a family to stay, lots of space and fully fenced to keep all the kids in. The lake is right on your doorstep and staying there made us feel like we were in our own little world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing