We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camellia Court Motel
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I booked in 11 people for a fishing trip. We pre-negotiated a flat rate per head on a shared room basis. We had 3 people in a 4 bed unit and he tried to charge us the full unit rate instead of the agreed flat rate per head. When booking, we checked that they had a communal area and BBQs available. BBQs were rusted or dirty and located well away from the communal kitchen area. As it was raining we wanted to move BBQs under cover outside a unit, but we were not allowed because he didn’t want smoke getting onto the eaves. We couldn’t shift BBQs outside in the open outside the communal kitchen area because the owner was concerned that they would be stolen overnight. Communal kitchen was old, in a mess and dirty. Units were tired and rundown, with tears in furniture, missing or broken bulbs. When we told him of the missing bulbs, he said we should have told him. He should have checked before units let out. Basically, the whole place is very rundown. I would only recommend if you are on a shoestring budget. I can see why he wanted full payment upon arrival rather than at checkout time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFAC_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    24
    24
    32
See reviews for
55
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place is atrocious. While it certainly was favourably priced, the conditions were well below standard, the facilities old, broken and very unclean especially the pots and pans, the shower had a dirty feel to it, the service was less than friendly and it is situated in a difficult to find location within Taupo's suburbs. I was most unhappy about my stay, and it was the only unpleasant aspect of an otherwise fantastic family trip involving several motels, eateries and service stations respectively across the North island. Don't waste your money here. We had to make a special trip out just to eat as the pans were dirty...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Man2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Got a basic cabin for $40 for one night, 2 people. This is bloody cheap. The room was small with bunk beds, small table and a TV from the 8th with very poor reception. The room did look run down but was good enough for night. The shared bathroom/toilet was dirty and didn't take shower as went to hot pools instead. The shared kitchen had all you need but look dirty and didn't use anything. Also so much light flooding room and people talking past mid night. Overall for the amount I paid it was Ok.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed there 2 nights. The units are old, the surrounding area is not the safest, but my unit was clean and everything worked. The owner was friendly. They did change my towel after the first night. I was happy enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

You get what you pay for. And this is the cheapest. But still, this is so bad you need to think about staying somewhere else. Dity crockery made our cabin a gathering place for ants when we arrived. When I aksed the manager for some ant killer, he came, drew a few lines on the ceiling with a special ant chalk to stop them crossing, and left. We cleaned the dirty crockery and removed the ants. The kitchen doesn't look like anything new has been added or replaced in 6 years. The communal bathrooms are worse. This place needs a serious renovation before it can be sold.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbarista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I actually didn't know that places like this existed. The rooms were filthy, layered in dust. The sheets were stained with goodness knows what so we slept fully clothed and on top of the beds. The communal shower and toilet block was disgustingly dirty, non of our party of five wound dare take a shower in the place. If you have a option of sleeping in your car or staying in this hole, then your car is a much better choice. Avoid like the plague as you will probably end up with it if you are there for any length of time.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. It is the sort of place that you wipe your feet as you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Bybhuggjijbigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight as we were traveling through. We stayed in a basic kitchen cabin which was cheap and perfect for what we needed. Def nothing flash but this is what we expected for the price. The man at reception was friendly and helpful enough. Communal toilet block could do with a little up keep, but other than that our stay was good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#36 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#35 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#43 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#50 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Court Motel

Property: Camellia Court Motel
Address: 50 Tonga Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camellia Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camellia Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing