We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rive Gauche B&B Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rive Gauche B&B Lodge
Ranked #10 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed with Lynn & Jim in March and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Taupo can be busy so staying on the outskirts is advantageous. The accommodation, welcome and breakfasts cannot be faulted. Happily stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GibPLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are always delighted when guests say they appreciate the tranquillity of our location. Certainly, we feel that way when the town is busy in the summer months and we are enjoying relative calm here. An added bonus is that the short (2km) drive from the town centre means we have fast access to all the facilities without the hassle of being in the centre. Shops and restaurants are only a few minutes drive away, and we have easy access to main routes in and out of Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would like to say what a lovely time my wife and myself had at the “Rive Gauche” in Taupo New Zealand. We stayed in one of their double rooms for 2 nights and the rest of the holiday was spent in the studio apartment overlooking the small vineyard. The whole property was very clean and very modern in design, inside and out. Lynne and Jim were very hospitable, welcoming and helpful. I would recommend the “Rive Gauche” too anyone. A very nice experience wouldn’t hesitate at staying there again.

Room Tip: all rooms are very good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay at Rive Gauche. It was nice that you could experience two of our accommodation options during your stay. It may be useful for others to know that if their first choice is not available to begin with they can change, as you did, when that option is free. For those guests wanting a longer stay the studio is available on a self-contained basis, which is great if you don't wish to be tied to in-house breakfasts and schedules, however flexible they may be. We appreciate the fact that you had a particularly busy time while staying with us, and feel confident the studio was the perfect choice for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen sound
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Can't say enough about this gem! Gorgeous accommodation. Had wine on the private patio overlooking the river. Lynn and James were so accommodating and informative. Fabulous breakfast. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We were sorry you couldn't stay longer but full marks for making the most of your short stay. We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable time. We look forward to meeting you again if you should ever return to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are looking for a well-priced, very comfortable and perfectly positioned B&B at Lake Taupo, go no further! Lynne and Jim are excellent hosts who own and run the purpose-built Rive Gauche B&B just three kilometres from the gorgeous Lake Taupo. The B&B is stylish, functional and the luscious garden surrounding, amidst a beautiful country location, is exceptional. Our breakfasts were delicious and based around our needs; thank you Lynne and Jim. We highly recommend Rive Gauche. This is a terrific accommodation experience to base your exploration of a surrounding countryside that oozes natural beauty and charm. We can't wait to return and spend more time at Rive Gauche with Lynne and Jim and the Lake Taupo region.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully set up. The room we chose also had a small kitchenette within the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1959dannyoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Rive Gauche. For our part, we really enjoyed your company and would love to see you back here again some day. One of our great pleasures is in meeting global travellers such as yourselves and sharing the beauty of our property. We live in an ever-changing environment where guests delight in the evening quiet, the bird call and the varying light conditions of our semi-rural location, while appreciating the close proximity to the town centre and the range of facilities available there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, null, French Polynesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Everything was perfect : the rooms, the breakfast and especially LYNN who is a great hostess
I hope to come back soon
En plus Lynn parle un français parfait, ce qui est bien pratique quand on n'est pas très doué en anglais
MERCI

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Myriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
We love to host French visitors as we have a keen interest in France and French culture. As well as this, it is a pleasure for us to host family groups as we have had such delightful families stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Rive Gauche and we hope to see you again one day soon.
Un très grand merci d'avoir choisi de séjourner chez nous. Cela nous a fait très plaisir de vous rencontrer et nous esperons vous revoir la prochaine fois que vous repassez par Taupo.
Nous sommes très contents d'accueillir nos visiteurs français et francophones, et les familles sont toujours la bienvenue. A bientôt .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed a very warm welcome from our hosts Lynne and Jim and very comfortable accommodation in a gorgeous setting. Lynne and Jim were exceptionally kind and even made us late night coffee and biscuits when we returned from our evening out which we enjoyed in their very comfortable living room.
I would highly recommed this B&B to anyone visiting the area and wold not hesitate to make a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to spend time with our guests over a welcome drink on arrival or at the end of the day, our main lounge being the perfect place for this. The lounge is also available for guest use at other times and is particularly suitable as a place to relax for two couples or a family group travelling together. We wish you all the best and hope you will choose to return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikouaiti, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Rive Gauche B&B for 2 nights, in the self-contained studio, end of January. Lynn and James are very welcoming and shared their knowledge about Taupo and its surrounds. The studio is very spacious and well decorated. The patio and barbecue are ideal for the summer season. We were finally able to catch up on some sleep there after a few bad experiences in Auckland and Whakapapa. The lodge is located only a few minutes walk to the Waikato river, opposite Spa Thermal Park, there is plenty of activities in the area and a lot of walking and biking tracks by the lodge. I recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet accomodation in Taupo, without being in the city.
We had breakfast with Lynn and James, we ordered a continental one, but Lynn is keen on making cooked breakfasts, pancakes and satisfy any of her clients' requests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linshan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It was lovely to meet you both. We enjoy travelling and meeting guests from other countries is a real pleasure. We often find that we have interests in common with our tourist guests as well as with fellow New Zelanders. One of those interests is of course promoting our country and our region, trying to ensure that an enjoyable and rewarding time is had by all. I might add that the best value to be had is when you stay a few days, allowing you to get to know our region and enjoy our hospitality.
Thanks for choosing to come and stay with us at Rive Gauche. We really valued our encounter with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#19 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.3 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#4 of 41 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rive Gauche B&B Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rive Gauche B&B Lodge

Property: Rive Gauche B&B Lodge
Address: 128 Ferndale Way | RD 4, Taupo 3384, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish homestay lodge offering luxury bed and breakfast and self-catering accommodation options. Set in a tranquil location with private gardens and its own vineyard, Rive Gauche overlooks the Waikato River Valley near Huka Falls, only 2km from downtown Taupo, with convenient access from main routes leading to the many tourist attractions of the Central North Island. Our 3 rooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities, independent access, off-street parking and free WiFi. A generous breakfast is included in the B&B tariff, however studio guests may choose an independent option for a lower tariff. Genuine Kiwi hopitality offered by well travelled hosts. English, French and some German spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing