We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Great Food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Master of India Restaurant

Master of India Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Balti, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very Tasty Indian cuisine with some dishes that we had seen rarely in N.Z. The service was friendly and efficient and the prices excellent for the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    109
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“All said is true.. good one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food, good atmosphere.. try the goat mouglai.. very tasty.. fair wait time.. wish this was in Auckland ..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aniket C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Balti!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way back to Auckland after a few days skiing and having read the rave reviews decided to stop for dinner. We were not disappointed! Fabulous chicken Balti and tikka masala. So much flavour and very authentic. Very friendly, efficient service. We only wish this restaurant was in Auckland!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Britirangi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top notch food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed a banquet with four delightful mains, beautifully fresh baked naan and crunchy papadams. Every mouthful was sensational and we had to take some home as we could not get through all we ordered. Service was prompt and friendly and we truly understand and appreciate why this restaurant gets consistently great reviews on trip advisor. A must venue if you enjoy Indian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty curry, worth a go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner here as it has been rated as number one. We ordered a couple of curries to share. They came complimentary with basmatic rice. Both were different curry but tasted great. The beef one has enough heat in it. The persian balti style okra and chicken one is not as hot but tasted very good, a different curry from what we had before. Also ordered raita but it is disappointing as it is too sweet and didn't have much in it. It wasn't how it was supposed to be.

The place wasn't packed when we were there but had a few big groups. However our food came quickly. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhoopsyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master of India Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Master of India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing