We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch food and friendly service”

Master of India Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top notch food and friendly service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed a banquet with four delightful mains, beautifully fresh baked naan and crunchy papadams. Every mouthful was sensational and we had to take some home as we could not get through all we ordered. Service was prompt and friendly and we truly understand and appreciate why this restaurant gets consistently great reviews on trip advisor. A must venue if you enjoy Indian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    123
    27
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty curry, worth a go”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner here as it has been rated as number one. We ordered a couple of curries to share. They came complimentary with basmatic rice. Both were different curry but tasted great. The beef one has enough heat in it. The persian balti style okra and chicken one is not as hot but tasted very good, a different curry from what we had before. Also ordered raita but it is disappointing as it is too sweet and didn't have much in it. It wasn't how it was supposed to be.

The place wasn't packed when we were there but had a few big groups. However our food came quickly. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhoopsyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
“Best Indian in Taupo”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Recently celebrated my husband birthday dinner here. There were 13 of us and all of us loved the food. The flavors are so intense. Thanks for a great night. We will be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Recommended by locals . . . And it was great!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely food, friendly staff, great communication about wait times and no bill shock. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claireyf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Good food reasonable price”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant in Taupo but it was a happy experience.The food was great and the staff welcoming and friendly. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a good meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master of India Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Master of India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing