We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by locals . . . And it was great!”

Master of India Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Recommended by locals . . . And it was great!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely food, friendly staff, great communication about wait times and no bill shock. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claireyf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    123
    27
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Good food reasonable price”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant in Taupo but it was a happy experience.The food was great and the staff welcoming and friendly. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a good meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Indian meal”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had the meal delivered to our motel, and it arrived very soon after the phone order. The 2 dishes we had, one quite hot and the other spinach based, were perfect. Nice naan breads and rice.
Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They use fresh spices”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We did a quick online search and this restaurant came up No 1 in Taupo. Fortunately it was a quick walk from where we are staying.

We ordered a selection of vegetarian and meat mains to share. The food was beautifully spiced using obviously freshly ground spices. The freshness of the spices really hit me, as when I dine out at Indian Restaurants in NZ I am often disappointed at the sameness and lack of intensity of flavours.

As a keen home cook myself, I enjoyed the dishes immensely. Service was a little patchy, but very friendly and more than made up by a free Mango Lassie offered due to mix up with drinks.

If I lived in Taupo I would be a regular here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueDisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good India food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good India food . Low the fit out an the food. service not so much, waiter can't suggest a chefs special to us, that is a bit disappointed, but other than that I was all good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laziooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master of India Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Master of India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing