We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3yrs searching for an amazing Indian curry in NZ have ended!!!”

Master of India Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 134 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Balti, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“3yrs searching for an amazing Indian curry in NZ have ended!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Left the UK in 2010 having travelled through Asia, Australia and stopped in NZ our second trip to Taupo. No matter where we go we try out the local curry house this did not disappoint, reminded us of the the curry mile in Manchester, England. Staff are super friendly and the food was amazing not huge portions but enough to leave you full.

Very authentic flavours, we had a prawn balti special and lamb saag.

We will most definitely be back the next time we are in Taupo.

You have to visit!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonialou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    116
    27
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Food was very tasty, service good and value OK too. Seems like it does deserve to be in Taupo top 5.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Furber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can understand how it's #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I can easily understand why this restaurant is rated number 1 in Taupo. The food was excellent, very flavourful, and they were very welcoming.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Strange C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best Indian meals we've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I think the name of this restaurant is very fitting - masters of the Indian spices.

We had our two year old grand-daughter with us and whilst she likes spicy food and curries she doesn't like spicy as in chilli hot so we could not order our usual mild to medium and asked about their mild. We were told mild has no chilli but simply all the flavours of the spices. That's what we wanted and got - the full flavours of the spices that Indian dishes are noted for. We didn't even miss the heat of a bit of chilli

The flavours of the dishes were excellent, the service was excellent and the atmosphere very inviting. The restaurant is decorated in all the vibrant colours you associate with India. When we were seated the owner (I believe) brought out some cuddly animals for our grand-daughter to play with - she made us all feel very welcome. We also got to try one of their goat curries as well - excellent.

So if you want delicious spicy Indian food with or without the heat then well worth trying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“True to the name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Being a regular visitor to Master of India in Napier, I was pleased to find another branch on my recent stay in Taupo. Warm and welcoming reception from the friendly staff and excellent food on both of my visits only three days apart. Highly recommended on all counts.Do try the chicken or beef with okra, really delicious for a change.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master of India Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Master of India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing