We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious meal made special with Harry's wonderful service.”
Review of Indian Affair

Indian Affair
Ranked #20 of 138 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“A delicious meal made special with Harry's wonderful service.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A great place for a meal. Nice atmosphere, great service and wonderful indian cuisine. My son and I recommend here if you are in Taupo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    87
    31
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service and food were a miss”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Dined here during the midweek. 1/2 Full with 3 servers on and getting acknowledged and sat was painful. After being sat the greeting took over 5 minutes. We watched multiple servers focus on clearing empty tables and talking to each other instead of greeting and getting us started. Once we were greeted it was sheer order taking and rote service. Cokes took 10 minutes (and were just poured at the bar behind us.) Watched what appeared to be owner/manager walking in and out of the restaurant. Food was ok. Not the smallest bit of interaction to make us feel welcome or our business was appreciated.
The capper for the evening was one of my dining companions was ill throughout the night from their meal (buttered chicken/garlic naan). I eat Indian frequently and cannot recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr-H-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Curry since leaving the Uk”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

After moving to Australia 12 months ago, myself and my partner have been craving a good Indian curry. This curry was on a par with some of the best curries we have had back home. We had chicken tikka and prawn pakoras to start. I would have preffered a bit more spice in the pakora batter but the chicken was perfectly cooked. We had a lamb dopiaza with garlic naan and boiled rice, all were perectly cooked and flavours well balanced. If i ever found myself back in Taupo i would definately return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy. All 4 of us, 2 adults, 2 children very tasty, hot meals. service excellent.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went for our sons birthday, arrived just before 6, poppadoms brought on arrival. Curries very tasty, hot, service excellent. Brought our son a surprise ice cream sundae with candle for his birthday for no charge. Couldnt fault. Chicken jalfrezi medium hot, yummo, chicken madras medium hot, yummy. Have been and Will definitly go again. A very enjoyable evening. Great restaurant, thank you very much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ladies day out”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Wonderful meal served to our group at a very good price, as we went outside their menu (didn't want a full banquet). Service wonderful. Will certainly be going back and will recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Affair also viewed

 

Been to Indian Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing