We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Indian Affair

Indian Affair
Ranked #22 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Recently during our trip to Taupo, went to buy some dinner. The guy taking the order was an Indian and we specifically them him that we want the food prepared Indian style and Indian hot. Since it was a take away we could not taste the food before we left the restaurant. But after we reached our Hotel, we could just not eat that food. Every thing was made so sweet (keeping in view normal Kiwi customer), but for an Indian, you cannot eat any curry that is sweet. Horrible Food Horrible service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    84
    31
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An affair not to be missed!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was lucky enough to be taken to an Indian Affair in Taupo. What a wonderful experience it turned out to be.
The service was friendly and efficient and the food delicious. Their pashwari nan was more like a Christmas pudding it had so much dried fruit in it but other than that I couldn't find anything to fault with this wonderful restaurant .
Hardina or Harry as he is known to the locals is one of the owners of this wonderful restaurant. He was charming and very helpful when assisting me in making up my mind about what to order. The menu was so comprehensive, I was spoiled for choice.
Their wine list is excellent and better still you can bring your own if you prefer to.
Booking a table in peak months I would I imagine would be a must.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjane1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Busy little Resturant which proves its definitely worth a visit. Great selection on the menu. Very efficient staff too. Above all else it was an affordable eat out for the two of us.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Exceptional”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Dined here many times and also home delivery. Always superb, great value and well looked after every time. Remember to book as they are always busy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaycrestL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Food I've Had in NZ”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Friends recommended this restaurant in Taupo, and I'm glad they did. It was the best Indian food I've had since leaving London, and I strongly recommend it to people who enjoy high end Indian cuisine. The restaurant is in a good location in the center of town. The decor is tasteful and warm, the service was very good, and they had a nice wine list, which you don't always get in Indian restaurants here. I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Affair also viewed

 

Been to Indian Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing