We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in Taupo”
Review of Birchlands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birchlands Motel
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very comfortable clean unit with additional not seen before extras including a water cooler and olive oil supplied, as well as new kitchen appliances. We had a comfortable bed essential after a day at the Taupo summer concert! We were within walking distance of the venue. The service was excellent from the owners and we will stay there again when next in Taupo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank JosN905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of us after after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you found the rooms met all your expectations and that the extra items and facilities in the rooms to be well thought out. We do pride ourselves on offering an affordable place away from home that still has all the home comforts and qualities. Shame about the weather on the day of the concert, but I think everyone still had a great day, and good to hear the bed afforded you a great nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Birchlands Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 167 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked this motel based on Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. Don't let the exterior put you off, the room was the best in this price bracket that we stayed in during our NZ holiday. The furniture was modern, with a full kitchen, lounge, large TV, comfortable bed, and generous WIFI allowance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NE898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of us after after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you were not disappointed after reading our other reviews here on TripAdvisor. We've tried to make it as homely as we can in our recent refurbishments and we are pleased to hear that it is noticed and enjoyed. We've also just further enhanced our WiFi offering for guests when using our Special Offer here on TripAdvisor, but am also pleased you found our offering at the time still to be generous.
We appreciate you may not get to NZ often, but look forward to hosting you again should you return to Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed two nights at Birchlands and enjoyed the clean,airy one bedroom unit with funky appliances and pottery,stereo and usb flatscreen,opposite a park,lots of free wi-fi,deflead washed small dog welcome,lovely service,fresh cooled water,wee private courtyard with own outdoro umbrella,personal washing done for us:-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of us after after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed all the extras that we have added to the rooms to make it as close to a home away from home as we can take it. Some properties in Taupo require animal vaccinations, but as you mentioned as long as they are well behaved, flea treated and clean animals they are most welcome here. We look forward to hosting you again on return travels to Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Spotlessly clean and very spacious units, well equipped with some nice extra touches. A little way from the main roads so not too much traffic noise during the night. Helpful and obliging owners. We will definitely book accommodation here on our next trip to Taupo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of us after after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you found the rooms met all your expectations for comfort, cleanliness and price, and that you enjoyed the little extra touches. It was a pleasure to have you both and your chihuahua stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again on return travels to Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great friendly welcome on arrival.
Good touch to have fresh milk provided for tea and coffee.
Rooms were very clean and had all that we needed.
Easy walk to town centre where there are loads of eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your review of us after after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you found both the staff to be warm and welcoming, but also that the rooms meet or exceeded your expectation when it came to the facilities on offer and the cleanliness of them. We are very fortunate to have the location we do, just a block back from the lake front but also only a couple of blocks from town itself making it an easy walk to most things.
We hope that you had a wonderful remainder of your trip through New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The owners are lovely, very obliging, the presentation is very well done and everything was clean and comfortable! Couldn't ask for more for the price! Taupo is absolutely beautiful wish we stayed longer!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your review of us after after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you found the rooms met all your expectations for comfort, cleanliness and price. Taupo is a lovely place, and we are pleased to have been of service to you on your visit through. We look forward to hosting you again should you come back to NZ & Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

During our stay in Taupo we stayed in this motel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and include a free fresh water tank, air conditioning, LCD TV and 1 GB a day wifi. There is also a kitchens which also includes glasses, plates, cutlery, toaster and microwave.

There is a separate bedroom with a good bed and pillows. Everything is very clean including the carpet and bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your review of us after after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you found the rooms met all your expectations and that the items and facilities in the rooms to be well thought out. We do pride ourselves on offering an affordable place away from home that still has all the home comforts and qualities.
We understand you don't get to travel New Zealand that often but look forward to being of service to you again should you return through Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchlands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchlands Motel

Address: 120 Roberts Street | Corner of Kaimanawa & Roberts, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $77 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchlands Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & affordable accommodation in Taupo. A choice of Studio, One or Two bedroom units all with SKY TV Guest Select 50+ Channels, fully equipped kitchens with filtered water, heat pump and private rear patio areas. Each unit has its own off street car park and we have off street parking available for your boat / trailer by arrangement. WiFi - FREE Unlimited WiFi available when booked directly with us. 500MB limit per day applies to bookings through other online booking agencies or travel agents. Pets are also welcome by arrangement (We have 1 Pet Friendly Unit). Please contact Motel for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Birchlands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing