We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Small Hotel”
Review of Birchlands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birchlands Motel
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Crested Butte Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Small Hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stumbled upon this last at night....welcomed and made to feel right at home. After staying in hotels for 3 weeks in New Zealand we decided this was one of the best stays and certainly the best value for the money.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms and all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolderco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us and we are so pleased that you found our property to be one of the best that you stayed in over the 3 weeks you were in New Zealand. It was a delight to have you as our guests. We appreciate you don't get to New Zealand often, but if you do ever return it would be lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    54
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
74
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Birchland's is great for that "break the trip" one night stay in Taupo. It is an old motel, but with recent refurbishment carried out. It is close to town - an easy walk to the supermarket but still quiet and with a nice view of the lake from outside.

Nice touches were some oil provided to help with cooking and fresh crockery and appliances.

Very helpful service returning leftbehind property us - thanks very much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SeanlCleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us. and it was a pleasure for us to be able to return your shoes to you free of charge. We are pleased that you found the refurbishments to the property to be pleasant and fitting the surroundings. Having a Chef in the family we do try & add the little touches to the kitchens that a lot of properties do not think about, so great that you found these useful.
We look forward to being of service to you again on your return to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our family had a great stay and we couldn't ask for more. Close to town, great wee courtyard, even had an oven if we decided to cook. We have teenage kids and one got his own room while the other got the lounge but perfect to have them separated. Easy walk to Restaurants and McDonalds! Also close to the lake which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the courtyard area and that the unit afforded your family a good amount of space to spread out and relax. We do love the location just a block back across the reserve from the lake front, and only a few minutes walk up into town.
We look forward to being of service to you again on your return to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at Birchlands motel for a night and found it excellent. It's a 5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants in central Taupo, room was clean with a fully functioning kitchen, free tea, coffee and biscuits, Sky TV and a free gb of Wifi.

There was a little garden shared between the apartments with a BBQ and seating and there's free parking outside your unit.

Couldn't find a fault and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JamieJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of the room and the little extras. We've further updated the gardens and area at the rear of the units since your stay and we look forward to being of service to you again on your return to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely room. Very clean and very affordable. Great for a family with the separate bedroom. Helpful friendly service. They have thought about all the little things from xtra hooks in bathroom for towels through to current magazines to read. The decor was lovely and it is nice and close to town. Will definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us. It was great that you enjoyed the extra little things in the rooms like the Time Magazine & House & Garden Magazine, and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you again on your return to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A family theme hotel. Felt very homely during the stay. Enjoyed the bed and the heater which is the best for our trip.

Have some episode here in this hotel where there are water marks which we do not understand why it was there too but the owner is kind enough to settle the problem which save the trip , else it will be a damper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phvnz, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you liked the beds and heating in the room and that it made your stay a warm & cozy one. We too were uncertain what could have marked the table top, but are happy that it didn't put a dampener on your time in Taupo. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels through New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts,England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

On a 4 week tour of NZ this was probably the best value of all the motels we stayed in. Having changed ownership recently the place is being upgraded - our room was very clean and well appointed. Quiet position overlooking green land with easy parking right outside. Nice little picnic area behind each unit if the weather is good - heating inside if it's not. The owner was helpful and is obviously keen to develop the business. When we were looking for a Taupo motel we almost ignored this one as we thought it was too cheap for what it offered - it certainly has to be the best bargain in Taupo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bagabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phvnz, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us, and we are very pleased to hear that you believed us to be the best value on offer throughout your trip. We have tried to make the property a home away from home. Great to hear that the location close to town & the lake, yet set back off the main road proved to be up to your expectations. Definitely thankful you didn't overlook us when you were choosing you place to stay, and pleased we were able to exceed your expectations. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
The Lake
The Lake
#30 of 69 in Taupo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchlands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchlands Motel

Property: Birchlands Motel
Address: 120 Roberts Street | Corner of Kaimanawa & Roberts, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchlands Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & affordable accommodation in Taupo. A choice of Studio, One or Two bedroom units all with SKY TV Guest Select 50+ Channels, fully equipped kitchens with filtered water, heat pump and private rear patio areas. Each unit has its own off street car park and we have off street parking available for your boat / trailer by arrangement. WiFi - FREE Unlimited WiFi available when booked directly with us. 500MB limit per day applies to bookings through other online booking agencies or travel agents. Pets are also welcome by arrangement (We have 1 Pet Friendly Unit). Please contact Motel for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birchlands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing