We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip!”

Rapid Sensations Ltd
Ranked #37 of 69 things to do in Taupo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rapid Sensations Ltd is Taupo’s premier outdoor adventure company that has been operating throughout the Lake Taupo – Tongariro National Park region for over 22 years.Held in high regard for professional, safe delivery of quality experiences and outcomes, Rapid Sensations offers a comprehensive range of adventure activities and programs to the tourism, corporate, military and education sectors.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A short walk from town, great scenery, great fun, lovely people. Colin was really friendly and helpful, great value for money! Would highly recommend to anyone.

Thank Bentley1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanRuthven, Manager at Rapid Sensations Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed the trip down the beautiful Waikato River. Thanks so much for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 47 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

A group of friends and I went on the 2 hour river kayak to the natural hot springs on a Saturday afternoon. We tried our luck booking in on the same morning, and they were very accommodating. Especially so when we underestimated the drive from Turangi to Taupo and turned up late! Very friendly staff, and was great to have their dog come along for the van ride too.
The trip itself was amazing, the river is beautiful - so clear and serene. We got to wait around at the bottom of the Taupo bungy while someone got ready for a jump which was pretty cool. When we arrived at the natural hot spring it was quite busy but not too bad.
Our tour guide was great, he taught us a couple of kayaking moves (as we were all beginners) and talked to us about the area. He also didn't feel the need to rush us out of the natural hot spring, and also helped out some other kayakers in the area.
It was a nice easy trip and we all felt like it was money very well spent. Highly recommend Rapid Sensations :-)

Thank Shark87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanRuthven, Manager at Rapid Sensations Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review and we are pleased you had a great experience with our company and our guide took good care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On my recent trip to NZ I was lucky enough to go on a kayaking trip with Rapid Sensations on Lake Taupo. If you are visting Taupo or even near by, I recommend you stop by and experience this kayaking trip to get an up close experience of Lake Taupo's beauty. Plus the afternoon tea stop with the homemade brownies is a bonus!

Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I took a kayaking tour the Māori carvings on Lake Taupō a few weeks back during our honeymoon. Our guide, Ian, was friendly and patient with us as we paddled (slowly, at times) our double kayak along the lake. He was able to share a great deal of the history and significance of not only the carvings, but the lake, and of the region as a whole.

After visiting the carvings, we stopped off on a beach for tea and Anzac biscuits, which was very much needed after the wind kicked up the waves on the lake. Ian took pictures of us through the whole trip and posted them to Facebook for free, instead offering them for sale after the tour like most other tour companies we've used.

We highly recommend this tour!

Thank TylerAndAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I took a two hour kayak trip down the Waikato river to natural hotsprings. The company was accomodating, taking our booking at 9pm the night before and picked us up from the hotel at 8am the next morning. We were the only people booked in so had a private tour, an added bonus! Tour guide was friendly and knowledgable and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. The hotsprings are a real treat and I wish we had done the four hour trip I enjoyed this so much.
Kayaks were good quality and comfortable.

Thank Allioop78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanRuthven, Manager at Rapid Sensations Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed the trip down the beautiful Waikato River and our guide took good care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapid Sensations Ltd also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Rapid Sensations Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing