We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Chris Jolly Outdoors
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.98*
and up
Maori Rock Carving Cruise from Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This family run business has been operating scenic cruises, private boat charters, Trout fishing tours, guided hiking and hunting excursions on and around Lake Taupo for over 30 years. Offering 4 launches to choose from with outstanding facilities for entertaining, scenic tours and of course Trout fishing. Chris Jolly and his team will ensure you have the tip of a lifetime. Also our new Boat shuttles on the Great Lake Trail - NZ Cycle Trail (Nga Haeranga)we can boat shuttle you from bay to bay.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently traveled on The Cruise Cat it was great from start to finish, the crew the commentary were just the best, we have done this trip a couple of times now and this was by far the best it was slightly dearer only by $4 and the trip was well worth it even has real perked coffee and free hot muffins straight out of the oven, Chris Jolly perfect for the whole family including families that have prams with them also will set up for the disabled as plenty of room on board for wheelchair.
Don't be put off by the weather if it's a wet day we sailed on a set day and the Lake was as smooth as.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    37
    11
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Lake Taupo cruise!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We joined the morning cruise, and we were blessed with fabulous morning. Lake Taupo was absolutely beautiful, and the crew members were very friendly. We were lucky that there happened to be a Maori lady on board with her visitors and she was very knowledgeable.

Freshly baked muffins and hot tea/coffee were included in the ticket and they were popular ;)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LG_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY AWESOME”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I chartered the cruise cat for a 5 hour trip on the lake, it was awesome, the staff very friendly and professional, we did some clay shooting on board which was not easy as the boat sways but was realy fun.
we chose to do our own catering but we had the staff prepare everything for us and they did a fantastic job.
the bar prices were pretty good too.
Overall we cant wait to do this again and look forward to our future trip.
I can highly recomend the Cruise Cat

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilTaupoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lake Taupo Cruise”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose the one and half hour morning cruise and although the weather was atrocious on the day, very rough cruising it was still thoroughly enjoyable, great commentary and attention from crew, warm muffin and good coffee. Lovely young lady at reception when we booked, cheerful and friendly. When in Taupo next we would definitely enjoy doing the trip again on a calm day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home town reception with first class attractions.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Phoebe from Chris Jolly Outdoors is a one woman stop to what's what in Taupo. With her local know-how we mapped out (literally) our entire day including a helicopter ride and a beautiful organic lunch at L'Arte. Don't waste your time at the visitors centre, just talk to Phoebe and she can point you in the right direction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsEstherRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris Jolly Outdoors also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Chris Jolly Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing