We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Bistro Lago

Bistro Lago
Ranked #25 of 143 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved the Excellent food and excellent service. A bit pricey but you pay for the quality which is very high.

Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido P, General Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Trish M,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback in regard to your experience with us on TripAdvisor and glad to hear you enjoyed our food and hospitality.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Bistro Lago at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely
Guido Paseri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 365 of 460 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Five star dining with Simon Gault ensuring that the menu is an exceptional one. My friend had the chicken poached in coconut milk and she loved the delicate flavour while I indulged in the sirloin special. Outstanding quality and you must order the steak fries with homemade BBQ sauce, they are divine.

Thank janicewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido P, General Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear janicewright,

Thank you for posting your feedback in regard to your dinner experience with us on TripAdvisor and glad to hear you enjoyed our food.

The poached chicken dish is a great dish and we receive a lot of great feedback about it

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bistro Lago soon.

Sincerely
Guido Paseri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got the tip from our hosts at Kauri Point, they were spot on. We did not book but were happy to sit on the deck with a drink for 30 minutes until a table was ready. The evening was glorious and so the sunset over the lake simply special. The food and service were of a high standard all complimented by the location.

Not cheap, it has to be said, but this is NZ in 2013. Times have changed.

Thoroughly recommended,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido P, General Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear middleageoe,

I very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here at Bistro Lago on TripAdvisor and glad you enjoyed our food and service

Yes, the view of the lake and the mountains from the deck is great and the sunset breathtaking, we feel very lucky to work in such a beautiful place.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bistro Lago soon.

Sincerely
Guido Paseri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent example of Simon Gault cuisine. Wine list wont disappoint and make sure you watch the sun go dine while you sip your first glass.

Thank rubygirlNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guido P, General Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear rubygirlNewZealand,

Thank you for posting about your experience here at Bistro Lago on TripAdvisor and glad you enjoyed our food and surrounding.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bistro Lago soon.

Sincerely
Guido Paseri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times at the Hilton and have always enjoyed the restaurant for its fine food. However this visit to Taupo we stayed closer to the town but had no problem deciding where we would eat. Bistro Lago is the place for us, the service is great and very attentitive, we always enjoy trying different foods that we would not normally eat and so far not one dish as been a failure. There menu is varied and I think everybody would find one or two dishes to there liking.
They also have a very good wine selection as well as yummy desserts. Bistro Lago has a very nice bar area which you can relax in either before or after dinner.
If you enjoy a nice dining experience and dont mind paying just a little bit more then I have no trouble suggesting this restaurant. It is a firm favourite of ours and hopefully will always be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FarmersDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing