We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience”
Review of Bistro Lago

Bistro Lago
Ranked #25 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Taupo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was, as you would expect of a restaurant, of this calibre - delicious!
The staff were the icing on the cake! They went out of their way to make our evening truly lovely, offered very knowledgable advice on several aspects of the menue, and for us, the genuine feeling of the whole evening was a 'homely feel with exquisite views & supberb food & service'

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VJayTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    101
    51
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant. cozy fireplaces”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lovely food. superb local wines and a warm cozy atmosphere. They even had high chairs for our daughter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had an excellent lunch and dinner! The quail and the rocket salad are highly recommended. Service by Courtney was top class! Lovely location on tp of a hill away from the buzz of Taupo town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chiahhwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The menu offers a wide selection and the food presentation and quality s excellent. Service a little patchy and the ambiance is spoilt by the very warm room temperature.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsRemy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great meal with beautiful views”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went here for our anniversary dinner one night while staying at the Hilton. The food was really excellent. The portion sizes, even for the entrees, was generous. We ordered a pork belly entree and it was quite large. The side salads were also generous - in retrospect we could have easily shared one instead of each getting our own. Service was a little frayed around the edges, but they did their very best and we didn't have to wait long for any course. Reservations a must. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbradbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing