We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Lake Holiday Park
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Enjoyed four nights at Great Lakes Holiday Park in one of their cabins. Camp ground is well kept, kitchen was spotless, they even had some communal crockery and cooking pots. Toilets and showers were also very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It takes only minutes to drive into central Taupo so a great location. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTL-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Great review! Thank you. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your multi night stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    39
    16
    13
    3
See reviews for
55
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chiltern, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights on a campervan holiday around the north island of NZ and we had a wonderful experience.
We had really nice people at the counter when we checked in - very friendly.
There was a good atmosphere to this camping ground and seemed very family friendly.
We had a powered site right near the facilities, which were the best kept facilities of our trip. The toilets and showers were very clean, and the building was nice and bright. There was also a hair dryer for use.
The kitchen was also clean.
Another positive was that this park was easy to get to, and was really close to town whilst also feeling like you were out of the town. There was a really nice fish and chips shop close by too.
We really enjoyed staying here and would do so again.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

In my camper van touring around NZ - this has been my favourite site so far. Doesn't have the fabulous views that Hahei does, by you do get a nice view of the lake. The facilities are very good, with good kitchen and a small lounge which is great now it's getting cooler at night and the camper van is pretty cramped. Taupo is less than five minutes away though they do have an onsite shop. Internet access is pretty good to compared with other sites I've stayed at. The owners are really friendly and I would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Pretty small site, and all spots look good. Ask if you want a site close to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review. We always strive to be the best hosts possible and look forward to have you stay with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in a tourist flat, at Great Lake Holiday Park, which was fantastic, so clean and had everything in it we wanted. Loved the rabbit towels on the bed. Owners very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: facing the lake is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the review, so glad you had a fantastic stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed three nights in our caravan and enjoyed this friendly little campground. Our site was towards the front ( no. 1 ) which gave us a nice view of the lake. Toilets, showers and laundrey all clean and tidy. The owners were particularly helpful and friendly .. even forwarded on a small load of washing we forgot to remove from the clothesline. Thanks Guys .. very much appreciated. Lovely little campgrounds like this should be supported otherwise we will loose them and all the homely benefits they provide.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you supporting our campground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in what was described as a " self contained stand alone unit ". It was compact to say the least and it had a very dated interior. There was a sliding door between the bedroom and the bathroom which just did not function properly - in other words you could just not cut the bedroom off from the bathroom. There was a decked area outside the unit but, would you believe, no chairs to sit on. Altogether a forgetable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevorduncombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Had you come to the office and report the faulty sliding door, it could have been sorted immediatly for you. However, you did not and we only found that the door had come of its runner once you checked out. It took only a couple of seconds to click it back on. As for the deck with no chairs, it's more a landing than a deck, hence the park bench outside the unit for guests to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this campsite for one night in a cabin.
Cabins are basic and clean.
The parking just in front of the cabin and the Staff was helpful.
Showers and toilets were basic and clean.
All the other facilities were ok.
The price was not very chaep

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KawasakiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
3.0 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Lake Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lake Holiday Park

Property: Great Lake Holiday Park
Address: 406 Acacia Bay Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park is situated only 3 km's (5 minutes) from town centre and is set in 5 acres of sheltered parklike grounds, surrounded by 3000 acres of farmland. Lake access and northern boat ramps are 1,5 km down the road. We offer a variety of quality affordable accommodation, 1 & 2 bedroom self contained units, deluxe and standard cabins, powered campervan and non powered tent sites. Park facilities include communal camp kitchen, toilets and showers, guest laundry, children's playground, trampolines, games room, Sky TV lounge, cardphone, internet kiosks, WiFi, private spa, free gas barbeques and tour and activity bookings.Come and enjoy the peace and tranquility of our Holiday Park along with lake views and warm, friendly hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing