We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solo Traveler: All on hand...all good.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Lake Holiday Park
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solo Traveler: All on hand...all good.”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This park was spotless, with great facilities. I had a powered site for a mini camper and it was just $22 for pleasurable conditions, compared to $20 for a terrible time in other parks. The free BBQ was handy, the showers/loos were incredibly clean, especially when I arrived at 7pm...when they are often at their worst. The reception staff was helpful with local maps and supermarket advice and the overall feeling was one of care, so long as you also took care. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    39
    16
    13
    3
See reviews for
55
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was a really nice, well run holiday park- For a family, not a couple.

We travelled to Taupo on New Years Eve with the intention of camping but the camping spaces had been sold out by many teenagers looking for a party on New Years. So instead we got ourselves a self contained room. The room was very spacious for 2 people, had it's own kitchen, bathroom and TV/ DVD Player. Our bed was gorgeous and comfortable. We had our own parking space in front of the room, and a picnic table for outdoor eating which were great touches!

Like I said in the title, the grounds were very busy. A lot of families with children stayed here, as the grounds would be perfect for kids with playgrounds and a games room. Although it was nice, it was loud and bustling. If you were looking for a quiet holiday get away this would not be ideal. I would recommend this holiday park for families and larger groups of people, rather than a couple like we were.

Everything in and around our room was very tidy. The grounds are very large and full to the brim with people, yet no matter where we went there wasn't a drop of rubbish

Customer service was average. We were perfectly looked after, but the only downfall was the grumpy man at reception. Upon arrival he answered our questions with one word answers, and when we went to check out and he did not say goodbye or thank you, and didn't make any attempt to make conversation.

It was about a 10 minute drive to town, so you would need to have your own transport to get to town or the lake for a decent swim. This wasn't a problem for us. We had a spectacular view on New Years Eve of the towns fireworks. Everyone went out of their rooms and watched the display which was a real highlight!

I would stay here again if we were travelling with a larger group of people. Otherwise I would opt for somewhere more quiet and romantic for a couple. I would recommend this Holiday Park to friends and families.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our family stayed for six nights earlier this month in one of Great Lakes' units. It was spotless and in excellent condition. Our son loved the playground. No problems with late night noise.
Very helpful and friendly owners (I understand they have only bought the the campground a few months ago). I find it funny that some people have complained about it being out of town- talk about seeing the glass as half empty; the campsite is in beautiful peaceful countryside and only a few minutes drive to Taupo town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have just spent afantastic week at this camp. We rented a family cabin which was very spacious and spotlessly clean, we had all the ammenties we needed. We didn't have any problems with noise which can be the case at xmas. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly, and went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The kids had plenty to do and were keep busy with the free equipment the camp provided. The staff even joined in a game of cricket with the kids , which was fun. The camp was keep clean and tidy and the atmosphere was very family friendly. They have a small shop onsite as well. We would recommend staying here and will be back for another holiday here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location, safe and child friendly, modern, very clean and well managed site with plenty of space. New owners have made a real difference to the site. What impressed me the most was the little touches like the hand towels in the pristinely clean toilet blocks, the scrubbers in the likewise spotless kitchen area and the well maintained and safe area for the smaller children to play. I cannot remember staying at a more pleasant site. I could go on...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! We certainly do pride ourselves on the parks cleanliness and I will make sure the staff involved are told that you found it in pristine condition. Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Nice clean kitchen and toilet block, well equipped kitchen which is a good bonus! Had a little shop in reception to get supplies if needed. Nice little camp ground.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights, the room, toilets and kitchen facilities were super clean and tidy!!! The park had a great friendly atmosphere and the staff went above and beyond to make our weekend relaxing and easy. Would HIGHLY recommend :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawson4emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
3.0 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Lake Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lake Holiday Park

Property: Great Lake Holiday Park
Address: 406 Acacia Bay Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park is situated only 3 km's (5 minutes) from town centre and is set in 5 acres of sheltered parklike grounds, surrounded by 3000 acres of farmland. Lake access and northern boat ramps are 1,5 km down the road. We offer a variety of quality affordable accommodation, 1 & 2 bedroom self contained units, deluxe and standard cabins, powered campervan and non powered tent sites. Park facilities include communal camp kitchen, toilets and showers, guest laundry, children's playground, trampolines, games room, Sky TV lounge, cardphone, internet kiosks, WiFi, private spa, free gas barbeques and tour and activity bookings.Come and enjoy the peace and tranquility of our Holiday Park along with lake views and warm, friendly hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing