We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We couldn't have been happier.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Lake Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Lake Holiday Park
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“We couldn't have been happier.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our family stayed for six nights earlier this month in one of Great Lakes' units. It was spotless and in excellent condition. Our son loved the playground. No problems with late night noise.
Very helpful and friendly owners (I understand they have only bought the the campground a few months ago). I find it funny that some people have complained about it being out of town- talk about seeing the glass as half empty; the campsite is in beautiful peaceful countryside and only a few minutes drive to Taupo town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    37
    16
    13
    3
See reviews for
53
69
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have just spent afantastic week at this camp. We rented a family cabin which was very spacious and spotlessly clean, we had all the ammenties we needed. We didn't have any problems with noise which can be the case at xmas. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly, and went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The kids had plenty to do and were keep busy with the free equipment the camp provided. The staff even joined in a game of cricket with the kids , which was fun. The camp was keep clean and tidy and the atmosphere was very family friendly. They have a small shop onsite as well. We would recommend staying here and will be back for another holiday here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location, safe and child friendly, modern, very clean and well managed site with plenty of space. New owners have made a real difference to the site. What impressed me the most was the little touches like the hand towels in the pristinely clean toilet blocks, the scrubbers in the likewise spotless kitchen area and the well maintained and safe area for the smaller children to play. I cannot remember staying at a more pleasant site. I could go on...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! We certainly do pride ourselves on the parks cleanliness and I will make sure the staff involved are told that you found it in pristine condition. Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Nice clean kitchen and toilet block, well equipped kitchen which is a good bonus! Had a little shop in reception to get supplies if needed. Nice little camp ground.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights, the room, toilets and kitchen facilities were super clean and tidy!!! The park had a great friendly atmosphere and the staff went above and beyond to make our weekend relaxing and easy. Would HIGHLY recommend :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawson4emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is very well-organized. The toilet was clean. The kitchen was very well-equipped with even pots, pans and cutlery provided, makes it more convenient and easy for us to prepare our meals instead of doing it in our motorhome, which was rather compact.
The BBQ area was good. We had a great time barbecuing there too.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Teresa967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

This is a simple holiday park which is few km out of town with views over the lake. The communal facilities were good despite a large number of people camping overnight.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC-and-JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.8 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
2.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.4 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
3.0 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
1.7 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#2 of 34 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Lake Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lake Holiday Park

Property: Great Lake Holiday Park
Address: 406 Acacia Bay Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park is situated only 3 km's (5 minutes) from town centre and is set in 5 acres of sheltered parklike grounds, surrounded by 3000 acres of farmland. Lake access and northern boat ramps are 1,5 km down the road. We offer a variety of quality affordable accommodation, 1 & 2 bedroom self contained units, deluxe and standard cabins, powered campervan and non powered tent sites. Park facilities include communal camp kitchen, toilets and showers, guest laundry, children's playground, trampolines, games room, Sky TV lounge, cardphone, internet kiosks, WiFi, private spa, free gas barbeques and tour and activity bookings.Come and enjoy the peace and tranquility of our Holiday Park along with lake views and warm, friendly hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing