We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our local”
Review of Piccolo

Piccolo
Ranked #4 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Turangi
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our local”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is our local stop for coffee and breakfast. Coffee is consistently good and on the go before we walk through the door. Other reviews complain about the price but I have no problems paying a little extra when I know the quality will be the same high standard each time. Friendly and attentive service without being over bearing. The kumara cakes and eggs Benedict is outstanding for breakfast and so far we have no reason to go anywhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    75
    22
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast cafe”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Second time there was just as good as the last visit a month or so ago. The muesli option is great, perfect coffee (flat whites), and the cooked options I saw going to other tables looked very good too. Nice looking food in the cabinet, decor is superb, outside dining option, very good and friendly service too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely lunch today at this cafe. They offer a large range of food cooked to order or from the cabinet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They also have free wifi. We would go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thereandbackagain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressed by the Service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The three of us were all very impressed with the service we received. As soon as we walked in the guy explained everything in the glass cabinet including what he recommends, what ingredients and what's vegetarian. The whole team seem to be on to it, front and back of house. The atmospheres good nice and cosy, the food tastes good and when I eat out I never eat those little side salad garnishes you get with your meal but this one was beautiful. Me and mum also enjoyed the $4 wine with our meal at lunch. Will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank when005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always friendly”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Large food cabinet selection and good menu range as well. Delightful friendly staff especially Craig!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmichelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing