We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe”
Review of Piccolo

Piccolo
Ranked #4 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Awesome food and coffee, great atmosphere.
Free wifi if you purchase anything. Really nice decor, felt brand new...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TerryLittlefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    75
    22
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No, you can't have menus we are too busy”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were with a large group and most of us had arrived and ordered brunch. Things went smoothly, food selection is good, ( great gluten free options). Food is good, although a little heavy for my liking. Pricing is on the high side.

A few other friends arrived and we squeezed up to allow them to join us, however staff refused to give them menus as they were too busy? Really? Not, we may be a while, or can we get you a coffee in the meantime, or we dont have menus available at teh moment. Plain out no you cannot even have a menu because we will not take your order. They may have as well told us that they did not want us there.

We all left and went elsewhere, it was great and we booked dinner for the 18 the next day.

Incidentally we found out others had the same experience later that day. We wont be back, but that shouldn't really matter... because they are already busy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A nice reminder of how friendly Kiwis can be when we try!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stopped here for a quick lunch on the way through Taupo - the caramelised onion and blue cheese tart was very nice, as was the coffee, but what really impressed was the service. Efficient and attentive without being overbearing, and very friendly. Would happily eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had lunch here. A great selection of tasty food and good prices. Both menu items and cabinet items available. Excellent service from the staff with items explained when you walk in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Lunch at Piccolo”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We called in for lunch on our way through. From the moment we stepped in we were treated like long lost friends and we had never met these people before!!! selection was from a menue or from the cabinet food. i had the Curry of the day which was just lovely and my wife had the tart which was also very good. I would reccomnd this place for top service, food and friendliness.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing