We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of B&B @ Number Ten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B @ Number Ten
Ranked #8 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived feeling a litte jaded, after too many hours in the car, to a wonderful warm welcome from Ann to their spotlessly clean and modern home. Our room was spacious, with delightful furnishings, and high spec ensuite. Ann's afternoon-tea hit the spot before we headed out to see the local sites. We really appreciated the wine and pre-dinner nibbles and the opportunity to chat with Ann & John who were so friendly to spend time with. Breakfast was a treat (huge)and served at a time to suit us, which gave us the opportunity for a little sleep in!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your all too brief time with us. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and I am so pleased you left feeling more refreshed than on your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ann and John were marvellous hosts. Their hospitality was second to none and the accommodation excellent. We really appreciated and enjoyed the welcoming glass of wine on the terrace and the recommendation of a good restaurant was spot on. The lovely breakfast cooked by Ann, including the NZ lamb chops really set us up for the day.
Have recomended number 10 to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our home. Your time with us was all too brief. We enjoyed meeting you both and have happy memories of our time shared on the balcony on what was a beautiful Taupo evening and the lively conversation the following morning at breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ann and John Page's modern home (built in 2008), in the upscale Botanical Heights subdivision near De Brett's and a short distance from the town centre, is an exceptional place to stay in Taupo. The room and en-suite bath were spotlessly clean, spacious, attractively furnished, and came with plush towels, all reflecting Ann's strong sense of good design. Each room has a view of the lake, as well as an adjoining patio to enjoy the afternoon and evening sun. Although there are no screens on the windows (which seems to be typical throughout New Zealand, notwithstanding the mosquitos in Auckland this summer), the windows can be dogged open securely for some fresh air, plus, our guest room was air-conditioned.

Ann is a welcoming and friendly host; her breakfasts are delicious. Located in a quiet neighbourhood away from any road noise, we slept very soundly. I highly recommend booking the Page's B&B @ Number Ten for accommodations in the Taupo area of the North Island; it was the most comfortable and most enjoyable place we stayed at during our three weeks in NZ.

Rick H.
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: Magnolia Guestroom has a king bed. Comprosma Guestroom, with north facing windows onto the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickH762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room (The Magnolia Guestroom) spacious and comfortable. It was great to see you both relaxing and making the most of the warm sunny evenings on your courtyard.
We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations – breakfast was certainly lively and fun!! Thank you for your generous review. We hope you will return, one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Anne and John have created the best B & B we have encountered on our month tour of NZ. From the classic contemporary furnishings to the marvellous breakfasts, the comfortable beds and gorgeous new bathrooms, all make for the most enjoyable stay. They are exemplary hosts, they are so warm and welcoming to their home, offering advice over a glass of wine on the terrace overlooking the lake - what could be better ! You must stay here, even if you have to make a detour to get here. Macleod World Tour

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your “glowing” review and for being 5* guests! We had such a wonderful time with you both, its means so much that you enjoyed sharing our home with us. Happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our next stop is B&B Number Ten in Taupo. It’s modern and clean. Ann, the type of granny you’d adopt right away, is very sweet, warm, familial, and relaxed. She even let our baby empty out all the kitchen drawers. She cooks us lamb ribs for breakfast, so we feel like real Kiwis. But we have trouble getting friendly with »Marmite«, a food spread made from yeast extract. John, her husband, helps us to optimise our itinerary for the South Island. Fantastic hosts, no question ... more infos on our trip through New Zealand? — get our AORTICA Magazine, N°02.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AORTICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We have such fond memories of you all. The lively conversations at the end of each day were stimulating and fun and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in the beautiful South Island. How privileged we were to have lunch with you at your home late last year and the unforgettable afternoon exploring your magnificent region of Germany. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for two nights on a short (5day) north island trip. John and Ann were wonderful hosts, inviting us for drinks, arranging a tour and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were immaculate - clean, modern, comfy bed, private ensuite and fast wifi internet available. 5 mins drive from Taupo CBD. Home cooked brakfasts were excellent.
Would highly recommend to others.
Andrew & Amber, From QLD, Australia

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and we are delighted we made your first Bed and Breakfast experience in New Zealand so enjoyable. We hope to see you back one day and wish you well with your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The very warm welcome of Ann and John, the situation of the BnB, the quality of the room and facilities, the area, made an unforgettable stay in Taupo.
It was like we visited friends and in the same time we felt free to go in and out, the room situated on the ground floor with a nice lovely part of garden.
Certainly if we have an opportunity to return to New Zealand we will stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt free to come and go. We so enjoyed our “catch up” each morning and listening to your stories that you shared with us. We do hope you return as we know you would find so much more to interest you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.5 mi away
Amori Lodge
Amori Lodge
#7 of 41 in Taupo
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ Number Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ Number Ten

Property: B&B @ Number Ten
Address: 10 Coprosma Crescent | Botanical Heights, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B @ Number Ten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing