We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts, no question”
Review of B&B @ Number Ten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B @ Number Ten
Ranked #8 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our next stop is B&B Number Ten in Taupo. It’s modern and clean. Ann, the type of granny you’d adopt right away, is very sweet, warm, familial, and relaxed. She even let our baby empty out all the kitchen drawers. She cooks us lamb ribs for breakfast, so we feel like real Kiwis. But we have trouble getting friendly with »Marmite«, a food spread made from yeast extract. John, her husband, helps us to optimise our itinerary for the South Island. Fantastic hosts, no question ... more infos on our trip through New Zealand? — get our AORTICA Magazine, N°02.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AORTICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We have such fond memories of you all. The lively conversations at the end of each day were stimulating and fun and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in the beautiful South Island. How privileged we were to have lunch with you at your home late last year and the unforgettable afternoon exploring your magnificent region of Germany. Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for two nights on a short (5day) north island trip. John and Ann were wonderful hosts, inviting us for drinks, arranging a tour and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were immaculate - clean, modern, comfy bed, private ensuite and fast wifi internet available. 5 mins drive from Taupo CBD. Home cooked brakfasts were excellent.
Would highly recommend to others.
Andrew & Amber, From QLD, Australia

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and we are delighted we made your first Bed and Breakfast experience in New Zealand so enjoyable. We hope to see you back one day and wish you well with your future trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The very warm welcome of Ann and John, the situation of the BnB, the quality of the room and facilities, the area, made an unforgettable stay in Taupo.
It was like we visited friends and in the same time we felt free to go in and out, the room situated on the ground floor with a nice lovely part of garden.
Certainly if we have an opportunity to return to New Zealand we will stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt free to come and go. We so enjoyed our “catch up” each morning and listening to your stories that you shared with us. We do hope you return as we know you would find so much more to interest you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A stop that you shouldn't miss for a couple of nights in this wonderful area of New Zealand.
Very nice outstanding accomodation with wonderful services. Anne and John are amazing hosts : very helpful and friendly, their warmth make you feel like a member of the family.
Breakfasts are fabulous, very healthy and you can only start your day with a big smile on your face.
The area is very peaceful and quiet, the view on the lake is amazing.
There are so many things to visit around this area that you can easily stay there for a couple of nights, discovering new scenaries every day.
We will never forget our stay in this precious place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran_0ise_T319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Your brief time with us was very special and our long conversations will never be forgotten. We are so happy that you felt at home with us, we certainly enjoyed sharing our home with you. We were very impressed at how much you managed to see and do in the short time you had in this beautiful part of New Zealand. Hopefully we will meet again, one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My hubby and I stayed with John and Ann during the Taupo cycle challenge for two nights. The B&B is brilliantly placed for this as it is close enough to town to allow for easy commutes (by car or on foot) but is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to mean you're not disrupted by the cycle challenge traffic/road closures. The accommodation itself is immaculate and super comfortable, plus Ann goes the extra mile by including lots of little extras in the rooms which makes you feel very well looked after. Breakfasts are incredible and plentiful so set you up for the whole day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallyThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Lovely to know you felt well looked after during your stay with us. We will never forget the fun atmosphere during breakfast on Sunday morning!! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will chose to stay with us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hubby and I have stayed with Anne and John twice now, our last stay was for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer! An exquisite home with the comforts and high standard of a Hotel with the warmth of a friends home. We always feel more than welcome, great conversation, AMAZING breakfasts, not to mention the beautiful views of the lake and hills. Anne and John go beyond the call of duty as hosts. Thank you to you both for welcoming us into your beautiful home and for spoiling us rotten! We won't stay anywhere else and look forward to seeing you again sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We were delighted you chose to stay with us a second time and appreciate your wonderful review. It was lovely to welcome you back to our home and to share each others news. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed 1 night at Number 10 and only wished our itinerary would have allowed us to stay longer. The property is very modern, incredibly well built, with superb finishes and decoration, and immaculate throughout. We felt we were the very first people to have used the comfortable en-suite rooms.
Anne and John gave us a warm and welcoming reception with delicious homemade cakes and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,130 reviews
6.3 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 42 in Taupo
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ Number Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ Number Ten

Address: 10 Coprosma Crescent | Botanical Heights, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: $127 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ Number Ten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing