We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth making a booking”

Thai Delight Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 135 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BYO,takeaway & delivery
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth making a booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It's a lovely restaurant with nice lighting. Service was very friendly and helpful. The food was really tasty. We started with crab spring rolls and prawn toast and had duck and cashew chief special and duck penang curry and Roti for main. It was $80 all up. Very well worth a visit. We will be back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmdtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I defaulted to Pad Thai based on other reviews, and while it was good I wished I tried something else. I guess I recommend to try something outside the box, because the Tom yum appetizer was amazing too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank where_to_next1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I go here alot. I have mostly had lunch here as they have a half price menu at this time. But I have also been here in the evening. It is a quite large restaurant but not over crowded. The food staff and atmosphere are wonderful. I have never found any faults with the place and recommend it to anyone

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Delicious! In addition the staff very very friendly and frequently talked to our kids, found toys to keep them amused and played games with them (which was great and allowed us to relax and enjoy our meal!!). The food came out quickly and they were very accommodating with providing extra utensils and plates so the kids could share. Everyone at our table enjoyed their meals and we will certainly visit again the next time we are in Taupo.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently good at the Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I visit NZ for a few months every year, with Taupo as the base.

We always try to fit in more than one lunch at the Thai Delight in Sun Court Tamumutu Street, particularly if lunching with friends.

Over the years there has been no shift in consistency.the food is authentic, prepared, cooked and served by Thai nationals. Divine food served with impeccable manners and a smile.

The problem for me is being unable to budge from green Thai curry or Pad Thai. I really should try something different.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Delight Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Thai Delight Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing