We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Cockroaches”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spa Hotel
Ranked #38 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Cockroaches”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Good points: Close to walking tracks, generally quiet, good reasonably priced meals, bar, warm room even when freezing outside, bed was ok to sleep on with clean sheets, most staff are friendly, AC baths are a short walk away, no noisy kids.

Bad points: Bloody big cockroaches, stained carpet, cobwebs on ceiling, leaking toilet, no hot water (barely warm) dated+run down interior, paper thin walls (woken up by next doors alarm at 3:30am x2), poor attempt at vacuuming the floors, dirty hot pool.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    7
    7
    17
See reviews for
14
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

After a previous night in the middle of nowhere (Clements Clearing DOC site) we were looking for somewhere closer to Taupo to pitch up when we popped into the Spa Hotel. The staff here were friendly and said we could pitch up on site for $5. I'm not sure if this is something they still offer, or its seasonal, as the price had been covered up on the sign at the main entrance.

There are no facilities here on site once the hotel/bar closes, so you really need to have a self contained unit. Despite this, and the fact that the hotel looks a little run down/stuck in time, the site worked well for us for the night. And as a bonus we woke up next to a bubbling stream and you're right next to Spa Thermal Park.

We would have come back for a second night, but we realised that Reid's Farm (free site with toilets) had opened, so headed there instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otara, null, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A few touch-ups around the place might make the difference how much business comes your way. We travel back and forth through the North Island and we don't mind were we stayru so long
as It's got a 1: Bed that's clean and made. 2: Shower & Toilet - must be clean. 3: Somewhere Safe to Kipp your head down.
I Would Come Back For Sure!

Room Tip: I like my room to have a hot bubble spa and this place has it in the Chaets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kowhai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ended up staying here when most of the Taupo accommodation was booked out over new years. We were in a one bedroom unit (with a loft upstairs, with three more beds) situated along a stream. On the good side, the unit was spacious and clean enough, and the beds comfortable. However, there were numerous small issues that indicated the place wasn't well managed. For example, there was one fork in a unit for five people, and the pool was really dirty (then again, who needs a pool with AC baths a short walk away). Overall, the place is very poorly maintained, which is a shame considering the amount of land they have. Also - despite all this space - the way the units are built doesn't leave any outdoor space to sit easily. There is a very narrow deck to sit on, which allows just one chair across, forcing you to sit out where the cars park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked our accommodation through Wotif which provided the option of a studio unit for $85 or a one bedroom for $95. I chose the latter but we were directed to a studio and which only corrected after my insistence with the lady who checked us in..

Our unit had the moniker "The Pondy" and was positioned alongside the studios. It was in a poor state of repair, seemingly being held together with cobwebs that adorned the exterior. The floor was badly uneven, fittings very dated, bed uncomfortable and had a number of light fittings without bulbs. The toilet cistern overflowed. We found a dead cockroach in the utensil draw and the window sills were gritty and was the resting place for dead bugs. On the positive side it was spacious and the appliances (including the tiny ancient TV) all worked.

Surrounding the studios were a number of derelict and uninhabitable buildings. There were some more modern units alongside Spa Road which based on the photos in the website is what I assumed I had booked. However other Trip Advisor reviews of these units have not been glowing either.

The word "hotel" is a misnomer. The units are well overdue for renovation whilst other buildings in the grounds should be demolished. This is one star accommodation and whilst $95 per night is at the budget end for Taupo I do not view our stay at Spa Hotel as value for money. Accordingly I can not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riwaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

At $5 per person per night for camping you can't really grumble, the bar is reasonable with pool and darts to keep you entertained and the food is really good - we were even given free mussels! The toilet/shower arrangement is slightly odd though - they have a couple of WWOOFers who use an apartment and campers share their facilities with them. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_the_Squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My son and I working on a new Power Station near by decided at the last minute that this hotel would be ok. Friendly welcome by the owner/manager Adrian and team. Upon seeing our studio we decided to upgrade to a chalet (middle 1 of 3) and for the extra 30 per night. More room all round, comfy beds with electric blankets and a spa bath. Adequate kitchen for meals and making next day lunches.

Negatives would be the numerous cobwebs, large stain on 1 of the sheets, poor sound proofing between ajoining chalets and general tired appearance. Obviously one of the older accomodation joints in Taupo. The maintenance program will be long and costly one.

Overall I would recommend in its current condition definetely a place for the lads, trades and not so for the couples for a romantic getaway. We did think the 'Hills Have Eyes' was occurring at 3am on our last night - turned out to be an overgrown possum on our roof :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
1.0 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#54 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: 281 Spa Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa Hotel offers budget friendly accommodation, close to everything Taupo has to offer. The hotel is opposite the famous AC Baths and close to the new bypass. It's also handy to most Taupo sporting facilities including golf courses, motor and cycling tracks and the Owen Delaney Sports fields. Set in tranquil park like grounds, the Spa Hotel occupies a quiet, sheltered position. A unique and intriguing slice of Taupo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing