We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip, highly recommended”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The room we stayed was lovely and decorated with native wood furnitures and loads of pictures. This is more of a nice home than a hotel, and makes you feel relaxed the first second you enter the house. The room, bathroom was huge. There were kitchen facilities too with free soft drinks and filtered coffee.

The host was nice and helpful in booking activities for us, and called a few places until found one for us to kayak in lake Taupo. I wish I could stay there for longer! Highly recommended for anyone who arrives by car and do not mind driving 10 minutes from the Taupo city center.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 288 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2010

Gail and Robert couldn't be better hosts. Very friendly and accommodating, and they obviously care a lot about looking after their guests. The rooms were immaculate, and the bed was VERY comfortable. The location is about a 10 minute drive outside of the main part of Taupo so you'd want to have a car, but this was never a problem for us. If I ever make my way to Taupo again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alku83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Thank you for your review, your comments are so kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Our stay our Kauri Point, was amazing. So comfortable, homey and relaxing. Robert and Gail are such nice hosts, from our welcoming handshake to the last wave good bye. We felt like part of thier family, even interacting with our "extended family" was enjoyable. The rooms were immaculate, comfortable and beautifully decorated.
I don't think 5 stars is enough!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Stayed here with my wife and another couple prior to a work conference, cannot recommend it enough. Brilliant hosts, great accommodation and very nice breakfasts. Were offered a drink to wind down with as soon as we walked in the door. Gail even dropped us off in town when we went out to dinner, the restaurant recommended was wonderful as well. Was our first B&B experience, will definitely be back next time we are in Taupo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDE_BDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Thanks guys for your comments. We enjoyed having you to stay and hope your conference ( and the girl's shopping trip) was successful.

It's interesting that we are getting moreand more Kiwis who have not tried the B&B experiece before, they arrive apprehensive and end up promising to return !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My wife, Lyndy, and I, stayed with Gail in November and it was absolutely wonderful. From her initial greeting with Arnie, the Springer Spaniel until we left the following morning, we were so relaxed and 'looked after'. The room we were given was immaculate and was more like a self contained flat with all of those little touches that make somewhere special. I could have LIVED in that room. The bathroom was superb and - as someone else mentioned - Gail's poached eggs were awesome. Views to die for, fantastic food, the coffee was strong and not at all like the dishwater you get served in hotels nowadays, and the warmth from Gail, Arnie and Tiggles the cat, was all consuming. We will definitely be returning and staying for a week where we will use it as a base. If you are ANYWHERE near Kauri Point or Taupo, stay with Gail. Fab, fab, fab!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeffMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Thanks for your review they are a very important part of our business.

You are so right Taupo is a great location to spend a bit of time. Being in the middle of the North Island gives you scope to travel just about anywhere within just a couple of hours, not forgetting all the things to do in taupo itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Its not often you go away for the weekend, but find that when your arrive, you're right back at home. (only its a much nicer home, and you don't have to cook or clean!) If you are looking for somewhere comfortable, quiet, personal, well equipped, like to meet new people, and love your eggs poached; this is one of, if not the best place to stay in and around Taupo.

We loved our stay at this B&B, enjoyed meeting the family, and found the whole experience marvelous. I read it in other reviews for Kauri Point, but you leave feeling like you have made some new friends.

We can't recommend this place to anyone high enough. Stay there and see.
Just keep a room spare for us from time to time!

Thanks again Robert and Gail.
Ben & Lenka.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CzechoutAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you both again. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stumbled across Kauri Point on the internet and are VERY pleased to have done so. Robert and Gail were very welcoming and freely shared their story that lead to this cozy B&B on the outskirts of Taupo. It was the closest thing to a home away from home for us... pets included!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My_opinion_4_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Thank you for your review. It seems that we often loose marks for location. Kauri Point attracts most of our guests because of its location away from the hustle and bustle and noise of the town. Obviously this does not suit everyone and you do need a car to get about. With the opening of the new bypass we are now even closer (not in kms but in driving time) to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,158 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#1 of 42 in Taupo
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#2 of 42 in Taupo
280 reviews
6.1 mi away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#3 of 42 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: $210 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing