We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Your luxury escape'”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was so nice to arrive in this beautiful retreat and be offered such personable hospitality. The offer of tea, coffee or wine as we settled into our luxurious suite was the start to an enjoyable weekend.To begin the day with Gail and Robert's fantastic breakfast and enjoy their friendly and warm company was to feel immediately at home. With Mt Tauhara as a backdrop from the dining area and large deck, it is only too easy to relax after breakfast and enjoy the fantastic natural landscapes of the region.
The option of private retreat or sharing the company of hosts and guests means everyone can feel at home and Gail and Robert's eye for detail ensured a truly enjoyable stay. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

We really appreciate your positive feedback on your Kauri Point experience!

Robert & I consider consider ourselves to be very fortunate to be able to share our home and this wonderful region with our guests. We attempt to offer a 'Home for Home' experience making our guests feel relaxed and welcome, yet still maintaining the professional approach that is expected.

We hope to be able to welcome you both back some day for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Kauri Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 288 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Everything was perfect!! Is a great Bed & Breakfast in a quiet and nice landscape. The room is big and cosy! Very exclusive, perfect for people who wants to avoid big hotels. Amazing breakfast!!
And Gail and Robert are very nice people!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielMellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you Gabriel for your kind words about your experience at Kauri Point.

At Kauri Point we aim to offer peaceful luxury that some would only expect of larger hotels, but in a home-style setting. Our suites are large and comfortable with comfortable deep armchairs for two guests to relax and soak up the views. You describe it as being 'perfect' and 'exclusive' - certainly music to our ears - thank you!

We hope you continued to enjoy our beautiful country and unique New Zealand hospitality. Kind regards Gail & Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Warm people, great hospitality, and extremely comfortable rooms. My husband and I stayed in December 2013, and had the most wonderful time. Taupo was beautiful, and Kauri Point was the perfect 'home away from home'. Loved it, and would recommend it

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent two nights with Gail and Robert in Dec. 2013 as part of a 3 week stay in NZ. I was greeted with a wonderful mug of hot chocolate, followed by a much needed glass of wine! Kauri Point is wonderfully appointed with little details to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The updated guest lounge was a great place to hang out in the late evenings and read a book, the rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the bathroom was luxurious. Meals were fantastic, with Gail going out of her way to accommodate my gluten free diet. I loved spending my meals with their two dogs, Arnie and Buston, who made me feel like I was eating breakfast in my own home. Gail and Robert made great recommendations for dining (The Bistro in Taupo...fantastic!) and activities in and around the region. I only wish the weather had been better during my stay, as I would have loved to have spent time out on the huge deck and enjoy the views of the immaculate garden.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonHoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed 1 night with Robert & Gail and it was a pleasant experience. The Aratiatia suite is very spacious and nicely decorated, we had access to our own terrace which was very nice. There's several breakfast options, 5 of them are freshly in the morning + there's cereal, fruit & yoghurt as well. Robert & Gail are very welcoming (as are their dogs & cat) and they have good knowledge of the area as well as other places to visit in NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgtoelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you Elina. We always appreciate our guest reviews and thank you for taking time to write.

We have recently finished a complete refurbishment of the Aratiatia suite so are really please to hear that you loved what we have done. This winter we will also be enlarging and upgrading the bathroom - our guest will be able to enjoy a larger shower and a stand alone bath in this suite.

Our new breakfast menu has proved to be very popular, offering a range of choices for all diets. Each item can also be changed if our guest has any specific requirements, gluten free etc.

We trust you continued to enjoy your trip to New Zealand. Sorry you could only stay for one night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Thank you to Gail and Robert for your hospitality, your home is a credit to you. It is furnished to a very very high standard, spotlessly clean, the gardens and views are outstanding, the welcome drinks and endless cups of coffee were offered at all times, the breakfasts were outstanding,fresh fruit, cereal followed by full English and much more,we loved how you welcomed us into your home and made us feel like part of your family. We didn't enjoy very good weather during our stay but that was made up by staying with you and would recommend anyone visiting the area to give your B and B a visit they will not be disappointed.It was outstanding,excellent value for money and a gorgeous house to stay in,,, thanks Geoff and Pay

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank allengeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Geoff & Pat thank you for your review. We are sorry that the weather was not so great while you were with us, but pleased to read that everything else met with your approval. Our logo is ' Kauri Point, Luxury Home from Home' which is what we set out to achieve for our guests. We hope that when you arrive as guests you feel comfortable and relaxed, as you would at home, and then you leave as friends!
We hope you will continue to enjoy your trip around new Zealand and will continue to appreciate why we love it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

What a lovely, warming welcome by Gail and Robert, just what you need when you are tried from travelling most of the day. They could not be more friendly and helpful, from offering a glass of wine when we had settled in, to recommending places to eat and see in the area. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, particularly enjoyed the coffee too. Definitely a place to come back too and very close to town. The view is breathtaking even though it was wet during our trip. Wished I could take the dogs back with me they were so well behaved and friendly.

Please do yourselves a favour and stay here, you will not be dissapointed and we look forward to coming back! Thanks for the great stay Gail and Robert, you are doing a great job!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saramac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank you Sara for taking a little time out of your last few days holiday to write this review. We have had a fair few days of rain this week so it was a shame you did not get to see the mountain view in it's full glory - hopefully when you return it will oblige!
Good luck with the remainder of your studies and your exciting travel plans. Robert & I wish you both well. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,111 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
9.2 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
277 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
6.7 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: $131 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing