We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very confortable, beautifull and good taste place”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very confortable, beautifull and good taste place”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in Kauri Point for two nights in this winter, and it was amazing! All very confortable, nice, tidy and clean. The beds, linen, everything was fantastic. And Gail prepares the breakfast with so much care and expertise! We can not forget to mention the good conversation by the fire with Gail and Robert, and the warm welcome from Arnie and Buster! We highly recommend this place for the top place to stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolsaidias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We thoroughly enjoyed your company, as did Arnie & Buston who were really spoilt and I'm certain were sorry when you left. It is very rewarding for us when our guests take time out of their busy holiday to spend time writing us a review.
Thanks to you and our many other guests, who have also written reviews, we have for the third consecutive year been awarded a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, as well as being the 2012 and 2013 Certificate of Excellence Winner & number 1 in Taupo. We could not have done it without you all, so a huge THANKS from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
227
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kariong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having never done a home stay before I was a little unsure of how it it would go. Gail and Robert just made us feel so welcome. To anyone who is traveling through the Taupo area this place should be your number one consideration for accommodation. The room was absolutely beauftiful, so quiet and peaceful with wonderful ammenities. Thanks Gail and Robert, we will certainly be recommending you to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor SA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Kauri Point, a few minutes out of Taupo, is a spacious and well-designed 5 star B&B with all the facilities a discerning traveller may ever require on holidays. The setting is truly beautiful and we found our 4 day stay much too short to both fully appreciate our splendid surroundings and the many attractions that can be easily accessed from this location.

Our hosts Gail and Robert, created a relaxed homely atmosphere within their tranquil environment - all centred within extensive and beautiful gardens. All holiday requirements were available to us, and their knowledge and experience in running a B&B, skills in providing hospitality and relevant information for guests and in ensuring we were always comfortable. It made our stay very special.

Despite our busy-ness we felt quite at ease as we were spoilt by our hosts with wine, chocolates, special coffee and breakfasts to order. Their two very friendly dogs became part of our experience as we shared their home. We look forward to sharing further with Gail and Robert in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenicencounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gail & Rob's luxury B&B. We are relatively well travelled and Kauri Point is easily one of the nicest places we have stayed at. Our room was impeccable, breakfast generous and delicious, Gail, Rob and their pets are wonderful company, and the mountain view is just amazing. We will definitely be back the next time we visit Taupo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_and_Maciej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Kauri Point was the fourth stop on our trip around New Zealand and, once again, we were not disappointed with our choice of accommodation. Kauri Point is a lovely property in a great location with wonderful views from the fabulous deck. Our room was extremely large and spacious and very well appointed. Gail & Robert were really good hosts and made us feel very welcome. We particularly enjoyed talking to them over our evening sundowners on the terrace. If you are visiting Taupo, we would definitely recommend that you stay at Kauri Point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Kauri Point is a short drive outside Taupo and is set in beautiful grounds with lovely scenery. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a great view of the garden and mountains. The bathroom was definitely luxurious with a lovely selection of toiletries. Gail and Robert are very friendly and their two dogs proper are equally friendly and welcoming.
Gail cooked us a first class breakfast and she and Robert were interesting company. 1st class B & B which can be highly recommended

Room Tip: Wish we had stayed more than one night so that we could have enjoyed the experience a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South-east-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Gail and Robert are extremely friendly and hospitable and go that extra mile to ensure their guests are made to feel very welcome. They have a beautiful home which very quickly becomes a home from home. In a beautiful setting on the outskirts of Taupo, the house is just a short distance by car or taxi from Taupo. The area provides a peaceful retreat from the town and a guaranteed good night's sleep,as does the enormous bed! Evening drinks on the patio made us feel like one of the family and they even offered us a lift into town for our evening meal! Clean, comfortable and spacious with excellent kitchen facilities available for guest use, a luxury shower room and a huge ho.e cooked breakfast; we were sorry we'd only booked one night. Would thoroughly recommend and would definitely go back. Great choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
3.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
276 reviews
9.2 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
196 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Property: Kauri Point
Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing