We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taupo Gem”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Taupo Gem”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early Jan and thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay in Taupo. I have always been a fan of the town and it sparkled in the summer sunshine. Kauri Point was excellent, I really do not have a lot to add to the comments of the previous guests. The situation was excellent, a bit of a drive out of town, and delightfully quiet. The hosts, Gail and Robert, could not have been more welcoming and were very happy to share their knowledge of the town and surrounding areas. A great tip for dinner at Bistro Lago (Hilton) as well.

The room was large, and very well appointed, there was all you could want. Plus the large deck if you fancied the sun. The evening drinks and canapes much appreciated. The bathroom was also of the highest standard. All in all, highly recommended.

Do try and get to the Bistro Lago for dinner. Not cheap (NZ these days I'm afraid) but great food and the view is superb.

Room Tip: Only 3 to choose from, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
227
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Gale and Robert are just so lucky to own this wonderful property with the most magnificent views. They welcomed us into their gorgeous home and we felt so comfortable there, especially with their 2 fantastic dogs..... We only managed to stay 3 nights whilst on our tour around NZ but what a lucky find as the rooms were decorated to a very high standard with huge very well equipped bathrooms. Views from the decked area outside the rooms were just serene and perfect and lovely huge private gardens to relax in. Just a few miles from Lake Taupo with only 5 minutes drive, this is a secluded homestay in a perfect location. Breakfast was varied and cooked to order and we felt more like friends than guests which is testimony to the hard work they both put into running the homestay. Thank you both for a wonderful stay, we will be talking about our trip for many weeks to come with recommendations to friends and family. Hopefully we will return on our next trip to NZ. Laura and Graham.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjrlcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for spending the time to write your review. We really do appreciate it and it helps help to keep us at the No 1 spot - we've been here for over 2 years now thanks to all our guest reviews.

We also enjoyed your company and also that of Jim, your father who we admire for travelling from the UK to New Zealand at the grand old age of 90!

We have recently been awarded Qualmark Guest and Hosted 5 stars - your reviews have also helped towards this so a big thanks from us both.

We are aware that we often loose point on the location category. All the sites we are on display our location, which is 7-10 minutes from the town centre. If you wish to be closer to town this is probably not the place for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been travelling 6 weeks and to find this "Gem" was fantastic. We stayed 10 nights and we could not recommend it highly enough. Our room was spacious, spotless and had a fantastic deck outside where we could admire the views.Our breakfasts were always varied and we got on so well with our hosts we even had dinner on one of the evenings! The guest house may be located 8 kms out of Taupo but this added to the location with the fantastic views from the rear deck. Our hosts Gale and Robert were just perfect and they were great with advice on all the local activities. The mountain walk close by was a great way to spend an afternoon. Couldn't recommend this place enough if you are choosing to spend time in Taupo or doing the Tongariro Crossing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb7856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed our time here . Breakfast is fabulous and cooked to order . The room we had was really big and had lovely big shower room . The place is immaculately clean and we felt very at home . Unfortunately our stay was too short but we would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsterbach, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Kauri Point Homestay has been our 5th stage in a journey accross the northern island of New Zealand. Even if we only have spent two nights there, it felt like leaving home when we left this morning.

The room we have had has been very spacious with a nice terrace. What we have immediately noticed has been free of charge and very fast WiFi internet connection and free parking directly in front of the house. The overall cleanness has been very impressive. The bathroom could be interpreted as luxury, we havent had a bathroom like this in any other stay so far. The living room has been very comfortable as well, a very lovely sight to the close mountain. The house is surrounded by a beautiful garden. The owners have taken every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

We are already missing the cute dogs and the cat. When you plan your stay in the Taupo area, this is definetly the place to stay! We have to give a big thank you to the owners, those 2 days have been wonderfull!

Best regards from the german honeymooners

Daniela & Sven

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners2012DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A last minute deal is what made us choose this place to stay, and it was definitely worth it. You need to be travelling by car to get a few minutes out of town, but the location is lovely. The property is set in lovely gardens with unhindered views of surrounding mountains and valleys. The family (including dogs) are very welcoming and engaging, the house is large, the rooms are incredibly well appointed (even down to toiletries in the bathroom) and the bed is comfortable. It was also nice to meet fellow travelers over breakfast in the family dining room.
Highly recommended, and we will stay more than one night next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieineuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Kauri Point was a lovely place to stay. We hadn't tried homestay style accommodation before and were a bit wary, but Gail and Robert were friendly and welcoming, and the room was large and light, thoughtfully provided with everything a guest could possibly need or want. The highlight is the 6 acre garden, full of flowers in spring, and the great views from deck. We only stayed a night, but I wish we could have stayed longer, to give us time to soak in the peace and beauty and wander through the garden, where guests are welcome to explore. Breakfast was excellent (no need for lunch!). Highly recommend this, will certainly stay again if we return to NZ

Room Tip: Main deck has great views, and is shared by two rooms. The front room has its own private deck, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
3.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
276 reviews
9.2 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
196 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Property: Kauri Point
Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing