We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at Kauri Point with a friend in July this year and had a great time. Their home is beautiful and the view spectacular. I thought they were great hosts and our room was very comfortable. I felt welcomed and at home. I would very much recommend it and we had a great breakfast when we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Kauri Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 287 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Firstly I want to say, I read all the reviews and thought this would be a great place to stay like everyone else seemed to. We arrived and were set upon by two very energetic dogs, who jumped all over our clean clothes and pawed us and licked us. I had to spare a thought for anyone who may be scared of dogs. Especially since the host made no effort to restrain them.
We were shown to a lovely room, but were put off by the dogs who made themselves at home in the room.
Only because we had pre-booked, we had dinner with the hosts and enjoyed it thoroughly though we felt that $35pp was a little too much to pay for French Onion soup and Spaghetti Bolognese which admittedly was tasty.
Generally we had a very enjoyable night with our hosts which made our experience in the morning so inexplicable. Without having had the breakfast situation explained, we were unsure of the B&B's protocol and so helped ourselves to cereal and were then offered an espresso. The hostess then brought over 3 pieces of charred toast (to share between two of us) and sat at the end of our table and read a cooking magazine. Her only conversation was to ask if we had slept well.
When we checked out, we were expecting a little more than to be ignored whilst the hostess spoke on the phone without so much as a wave to acknowledge our custom.
Finally I would advise, you check that what is offered on the website IS actually available to you upon booking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We take these reviews very seriously and are disappointed when we recieve one like this. We believe that our other reviews speak for themselves in all the very positive comments we recieve from our many guests.

We use the reviews to alter, adjust or add to our policies and practices. Therefore from now on we will endeavour to make sure that the dogs are restrained whilst guests are being checked in to their rooms.

We are a small ,rural, family run homestay. Please read the information on the various web sites. If you do not like dogs then this probably is not the place for you.

We offer meals on a pre-booked basis only. We enjoy spending evenings with our guests over a meal and a glass of wine. However, preparing dinner is time consuming and costly, especially if it is for only two people. All our meals are home cooked and freshly prepared using the best ingredients - in this case the French onion soup was laiden with guyere and parmesan cheese and the spagetti bolognaise was made with venison.
We offer meals as a service to our guests and not as a cheap alternative to driving to a restaurant in town.

Our winter special room rate clearly offers bed and continental breakfast. These guests were offered their breakfast at a time to suit them, which was arranged as they went off to bed the night before. Cereals, fresh and stewed fruit and yoghurts are set out for self service. Guests are served juice and hot toast when they are ready accompanied by a choice of teas or coffee - we have a comercial coffee machine so we can offer a great cup of coffee. I apologise if these guests had 'charred toast'. I doubt it was that bad, I would not have served it!!!!

We have a policy of not answering the telephone whilst serving breakfast or in the company of guests. On this occasion these guests left the property whilst I was on the phone after breakfast. I am sorry that they felt they could not wait for me to end the call.

We are sorry that these guests obviously felt they had a less than satisfactory stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Kauri Point recently. We wanted a low key & relaxing weekend away, and we were glad to have found the perfect spot for it at Kauri Point. Our room was clean and spacious. We enjoyed the views and exploring their garden / outdoor area, despite the wet weather weekend.

Gail and Robert were fabulous hosts, and even their pets were very welcoming. We requested for dinner with them during our last night there and Gail's cooking was delicious. We enjoyed hanging out by the fire and chatting the night away. What a lovely evening.

Thanks Gail & Robert for your hospitality and we look forward to seeing you guys again in the near future! We missed the spa pool experience in your garden and will definitely need to check that out next time.

I would recommend anyone wanting a fabulous homestay experience to consider staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropical_Dreams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at Kauri Point for the Taupo Half Marathon weekend, we only had one nights stay but our room for excellent, location was idilic and we were made to feel very at home... We would definitely stay there again, Robert and Gail were such lovely hosts...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent a lovely couple of nights with Gail and Robert and 'the boys', including sharing a delicious meal with them and their delightful friends. This was the relaxing part of our holiday and the generous, well appointed room with its own sitting area was the perfect spot to sit and read or take in the views. Gail and Robert understand what makes a great B&B, and the purpose built property has just the right mix of private and common areas. We loved that it is such a quiet and peaceful spot and yet only minutes from town. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had an amazing time staying at Kauri Point. Not only were Gail and Robert fabulous hosts. Their knowlege of local eateries made eating out easy! Gail has perfected poaching eggs and breakfast every morning was simply the best. Our room was large, comfortable and clean, the decor modern and cosy much nicer than any of the hotels on the main strip with the added bonus of excellent friendly hosts! The house itself was beautiful with stunning views of the country side and less than a 10 minute drive into town! We really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and have been highly recommending Kauri Point to all our friends since returning home. Gail and Robert made us feel totally at home and we look forward to returning to Kauri Point next time we decide to come up to Taupo!

Room Tip: Rooms with access onto the deck are large and sunny
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here with the most perfect hosts Rob and Gail. We had endless fun with "Busten and Arnie". We were made to feel very much at home here. Rob and Gail made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed their company when we shared a meal with them and bottle or two? of wine. This is a perfect place to stay. The rooms are most comfortable the bed is king size and the shower room is excellent. Our stay here really was "the jewel in the crown" of our holiday. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,108 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
9.2 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
277 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
6.7 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: $223 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing