We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else?”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why would you stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Had a fantastic time. Gail and Robert are excellent hosts. Food was great (excellent BBQ :) ) Hot tub was lovely and Rob"s AV system just the ticket for the RWC matches! 5 mins from town , better to stay here than at the Hilton. Top Marks !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
227
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This was the firat time we have stayed here and what a treat. Great welcome, perfect room, and space for the dog. Superb breakfast with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside - perfect. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogersAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a lucky find.

The place itself is great, very clean, roomy, and comfortable. The grounds are huge and perfectly maintained. The rooms, including the bathrooms, are enormous with plenty of storage for clothes. And very importantly the bed is very comfortable. There is a liberal supply of tea, coffee, other drinks and cake to be found.

The owners are perfect hosts, and will engage you in conversation when you want and leave you to yourself if you want that either. The owners are a great source of local knowledge, both where to go and how to get there. They also possess a very welcoming and friendly dog that certainly enjoys his life there.

Taupo is a great spot as a base for a vacation in NZ, and I think you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay when there. This is truly a home away from home without all the hassle of home maintenance.

Room Tip: One of the back rooms next to the large deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross90278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at Kauri Point for just one night, but we surely enjoyed it. It is an intimate Bed & Breakfast with large rooms and large bathrooms. Very clean, well maintained and relaxing. It really felt like a home away from home, especially with a lovely dog and cat around to keep visitors happy and cozy. We arrived at 3.30 pm and were welcomed with tea and cake which we had on the large and sunny deck, overlooking a mountain and a beautiful garden. We were given a key when we went out for dinner. The next morning, while we chatted with Robert, Gail cooked us a big breakfast with eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, toast, orange juice and latte's. Muesli, corn flakes, fresh milk and yogurt were also available and the cooked plums were wonderful. Kauri Point is great value for money and Gail and Robert make it very easy to feel comfortable and at home in their lovely house.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelMangawhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Awesome views form the enormous deck with private tables for each fabulously appointed suite; very friendly and professional attention from the hosts, Gael and Robert, who have found exactly the right formula of engagement and professionality.

Wonderful homestay - highly recommended

regarding the multi choice questions, all guest accommodation is on one floor; all suites are beautifully appointed and decorated, and spotlessly clean. We did not take a spa, need airport transportation or a fitness centre ...everything was perfect.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Kauri Point and enjoyed spending time with Gail, Robert and pets. Everything lived up to expectations, from the comfy bed, warm fire, delicious food and peaceful setting. We felt like family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. Sorry that the garage door woke you up. We have addressed the issue, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Room is spacious and most importantly, clean and makes you feel at home rightaway.
Hosts are fantastic and so is their adorable & friendly dog, Arnie.

There is even a spa pool for guests, which unfortunately we did not get to try as we couldn't bring ourselves to step out from the warm and cosy room into the wintry cold. It was great to meet and interact with the other guests over a drink in the evening and also over breakfast.

Overall, perfect stay and highly recommend Kauri Point!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Property: Kauri Point
Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing